Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you want the exact SS401 Platinum package, with processing discs in the pitcher rather than a separate processor bowl?
The exact SS401 package includes the 72-ounce pitcher and feed-chute discs but no separate processor bowl. The 18-ounce XL Smoothie Bowl Maker is a separate blending vessel, not a food-processor bowl.
Explore this need in the finder →Would a slicer/shredder setup in the pitcher work if it does not add a separate processor bowl?
The exact package lists a reversible slicing/shredding disc and grating disc used with the pitcher/feed-chute lid; it does not list a separate processor bowl.
Explore this need in the finder →Is one included 24-ounce direct-blending cup enough for your routine?
This exact package lists one 24-ounce Nutrient Extraction Cup. The 18-ounce XL smoothie-bowl maker is a different vessel and does not count as a second direct-blending cup.
Explore this need in the finder →The Ninja Foodi Power Blender Ultimate System SS401 makes the most sense when you will use its several different jobs, rather than expecting one large jar to do everything. The exact Platinum package pairs a 72-ounce pitcher with a 24-ounce direct-blending cup, an 18-ounce smoothie-bowl maker with a built-in tamper, and slicing, shredding and grating discs that operate in the pitcher. That last detail is unusual: it gives you food-prep attachments without adding a separate processor bowl.
One pitcher, but not one interchangeable setup
For larger drinks, purées and other pitcher work, the nominal 72-ounce vessel has a separate 64-ounce MAX LIQUID line in the SS400 Series guide. Those numbers answer different questions. Treat 72 ounces as the vessel’s listed size, not the amount of every finished recipe, and do not fill beyond the marked liquid limit. The included 24-ounce cup is a separate single-drink arrangement with its own blade and lid. Its cup size is nominal; the guide gives a MAX LIQUID mark but does not establish its number in the text inspected.
The 18-ounce XL Smoothie Bowl Maker is a third, genuinely different use. It has a built-in tamper that the guide says cannot be removed. You twist it while the bowl runs to move thick ingredients; the maker lists it for smoothie bowls and similar spoonable blends. The pitcher’s capacity does not transfer to this smaller bowl, and the bowl’s stated size is not its liquid-fill line. If a thick, single-serving bowl is a regular breakfast, this attachment may earn its cabinet space. If not, it is another vessel to keep clean and store.
Processor work without a separate bowl
The SS401’s reversible slicing/shredding disc and grating disc fit into the pitcher under the feed-chute lid. A two-piece pusher helps feed ingredients; the guide says to use the disc program or speed 1 and not to force food down the chute. That arrangement can replace some separate-bowl prep when you want sliced cucumbers, shredded carrots or grated cheese, but it means changing the pitcher’s lid and fitting a disc spindle. The exact box list does not include an additional processor bowl or an automatic dicing kit.
This distinction should drive the comparison. If your non-negotiable requirement is a separate food-processor bowl, the SS401 is the wrong package even though its name includes “Processor.” The Ninja Detect TB401 supplies a distinct eight-cup bowl and a reversible disc; the Professional Plus Premier BN801 adds a separate bowl and two 24-ounce cups. Neither fact proves one system processes better than another. Choose by the vessels and attachments you will actually use.
Programs and power claims need context
SharkNinja lists seven Auto-iQ presets for the SS401, but its guide assigns programs to different attachments: the pitcher, cup, smoothie-bowl maker and feed-chute discs do not share every button. The guide describes ten numbered speeds in the pitcher, a separate held Pulse control, speed 1 only for dough and feed-chute discs, and speed 10 only for the cup and XL bowl. That makes it more adjustable in the main pitcher than a simple one-touch personal blender, but not a ten-speed cup. The product page also has a field for “11 manual programs”; the guide’s practical control description is ten numbered speeds plus Pulse, so I would compare the settings by the actual vessel rather than treat those counts as interchangeable.
The exact U.S. page lists 1,200 watts of input and separately promotes 1,600 peak watts. Peak watts are not a measured blending result. The one-year limited warranty, 14.55-pound weight, and listed 18.5-by-9.84-by-15.59-inch footprint are more concrete buying constraints. Check clearance and storage for the full attachment set before choosing it.
Limits and cleanup matter
The Ninja-authored SS400 Series guide prohibits hot liquids, dry blending without liquid and grinding. It also warns against exceeding MAX or MAX LIQUID markings and calls out sharp, removable blade assemblies. Its guide is a series manual hosted by a third-party reader; its cover does not print the exact SS401 suffix, and attempts to retrieve the original PDF bytes were blocked. The exact SS401 product page does list the components above, but check the booklet shipped with your unit before treating series-level safety and care text as suffix-specific. In particular, this is not a choice for hot-soup blending or dry spice grinding.
The guide says containers, lids, discs and blades are dishwasher-safe once blades and lids are removed; the XL bowl’s tamper stays attached. The motor base should be unplugged and wiped, not submerged. Several loose sharp parts and repeated assembly are the price of its range. If your real needs are one smoothie cup, a simpler personal blender will take less space. If you want family pitchers plus a separate processor bowl, compare the TB401 or BN801 instead. SS401 is most compelling when you will actually rotate among pitcher blending, spoonable bowls, individual drinks and the pitcher-mounted food-prep discs.
Key details at a glance
| Manufacturer-listed container capacity | 72 oz |
|---|---|
| Included container style | One 72-ounce nominal Power Blender & Processor pitcher; the SS400 Series guide marks a 64-ounce maximum-liquid line. The nominal size and MAX liquid line are different. |
| Documented variable-speed settings | 10 |
| Speed and Pulse controls | The exact page lists seven automatic programs across the package and “11 manual programs”; the guide describes ten numbered pitcher speeds and a separate held Pulse control. Only speed 10 is available in the direct cup or XL bowl, and speed 1 only with the feed-chute disc or dough attachment. Do not treat the full control set as available in every vessel. |
| Named programs/control modes | 7 |
| Program categories | The exact page lists seven Auto-iQ presets across the system; the SS400 Series guide says available programs depend on installed vessel. The menu is distributed across the pitcher, cup, XL bowl, dough attachment and feed-chute/disc setup—not seven controls on every setup. |
| Published machine warranty term | 1 years |
| Warranty scope and wording | The exact U.S. page states a one-year limited warranty; coverage remains subject to its terms. |
| Manufacturer offer condition | new |
| Published machine weight | 14.55 lb |
| Footprint and height note | Exact U.S. page lists 18.5 in L × 9.84 in W × 15.59 in H and a 31.5-inch cord. |
| Cleaning and heat guidance | The SS400 Series guide says containers, lids, discs and blade assemblies are dishwasher-safe after lids and blade assemblies are removed from their containers. It warns that detachable blades are sharp, directs users to wipe the base, and says not to immerse it. The series manual is a third-party-hosted manufacturer guide, not an SS401-suffix copy. |
| Included jar material | BPA-free plastic; resin subtype is not stated in the inspected exact package record. |
| Included jar / additional blending setup | Three distinct direct-blending vessels: 72-ounce pitcher, 24-ounce cup and 18-ounce XL smoothie bowl with integrated tamper. The processor discs are used in the pitcher; the system does not include a separate processor bowl. |
| Manufacturer-stated motor rating | 1200 W |
| Timed cycle details | The manual states Auto-iQ cycles stop when complete and manual runs can continue up to 60 seconds; no exact preset durations are asserted. |
| Manufacturer listing status when checked | The exact U.S. product page lists model SS401 and the package; a back-in-stock notification appeared during inspection. Availability and price are not asserted. |
| Published base material / finish | The exact finish field is Platinum; this is not evidence of stainless-steel base construction. |
| Personal blending jars in package | 0 |
| Power-rating basis | The exact page lists 1,200 W input at 120 V and separately promotes 1,600 peak watts. Peak watts are a manufacturer claim, not a measured blending result. |
| Largest directly blending cup label | 24 oz |
| Smaller blending cup label | 24 oz |
| Included personal blending cups | 1 |
| Food processor bowl included | No |
| Manufacturer peak-watt rating | 1600 W peak |
| Blending blade dishwasher-safe | Yes |
| MAX fill guidance | The SS400 Series guide gives the pitcher a 64-ounce MAX LIQUID mark. The 24-ounce cup and 18-ounce bowl have their own MAX/Liquid Fill marks, but their numeric line values were not confirmed. |
| Manufacturer model / SKU | SS401 |
| Reversible processor slicing/shredding disc included | True |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Choose around the way you blend.
Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.
