Model assessment · Vitamix

Vitamix Certified Reconditioned Explorian with Programs review

A certified-reconditioned 64-ounce Explorian configuration with three timed food programs, manual speeds, Pulse and a three-year machine warranty.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black certified-reconditioned Explorian with Programs and 64-ounce jar
The exact Black offer image shows the Explorian program dial and jar; fruit is not package contents. Photo versus render status is uncertain. Vitamix
A useful fit for

A fit for buyers who want a large Explorian jar, three timed food categories plus manual speed and Pulse, and accept a certified-reconditioned offer with a three-year machine term.

The main tradeoff

The Explorian base does not work with SELF-DETECT containers; its product-page and manual footprint dimensions disagree, and the three-year reconditioned warranty is shorter than the A2500 term.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want a certified-reconditioned 64-ounce setup with three food programs and manual speed too?

Yes. This exact package lists a 64-ounce low-profile jar, three food programs, variable speed and Pulse.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a three-year machine-warranty floor acceptable for this reconditioned package?

Yes. Its exact page and linked manual document a full three-year reconditioned machine term.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need an Ascent SELF-DETECT jar to work on this base?

No. Its manual explicitly states that SELF-DETECT containers do not work with the Explorian base.

Explore this need in the finder →

Vitamix sells this package under the exact name “Certified Reconditioned Explorian with Programs.” The page and its linked manual give a 64-ounce low-profile jar, low-profile tamper, variable speed, Pulse, and three recipe programs. The manual identifies the machine as an Explorian Series certified-reconditioned unit, model VM0197; the U.S. product page identifies the black and slate retail SKUs as 072611 and 072612. Neither source assigns this particular package an E-number, so it should not be relabeled E320 or E520 from a nearby model or a photograph file name.

It keeps manual blending and adds timed food cycles

The manual describes a variable-speed dial from 1 through 10, a Pulse control, a Start/Stop switch, and three preset choices: Smoothies, Frozen Desserts, and Soup. The product page calls the last one Hot Soup. A selected program runs for its preset time and stops; during manual blending, the timer counts the elapsed run. That mix of controls is useful if you often repeat a smoothie or soup routine but still want to adjust speed yourself. It is not a pure automatic machine, and the menu is shorter than the Propel 750’s four food programs plus separate Clean control.

Thick mixtures may need the matching low-profile tamper, but the manual says to use it only with the lid secured, keep the jar no more than two-thirds full when tamping, and avoid more than 30 consecutive seconds of tamper use. Those are operating limits, not claims about how well the blender will perform with every recipe. A Hot Soup program also does not replace hot-liquid precautions: the manual says to start large-container hot blends at Variable 1, increase gradually, keep the lid and plug in place, and never fill to maximum. It does not state a numeric hot-liquid capacity in ounces.

Check the Explorian jar system

The U.S. offer includes a 64-ounce low-profile container, a low-profile tamper, and the motor base. The machine is described as 2.2 horsepower, 120 volts, and 12 amps; the product page lists a 10-pound weight and 9 by 7.5 by 18 inch dimensions. The manual gives 18 inches high with the 64-ounce jar, 8 inches wide, and 11 inches deep. The published footprint figures do not agree, so verify the available counter and cabinet space rather than treating the product-page rectangle as a precise fit.

This is not an Ascent/Venturist jar base. The linked manual explicitly warns that Vitamix SELF-DETECT containers will not work on the Explorian blender. It also says lids and tampers are specific to container style, type, and size. That makes this offer a better fit for someone starting with the included Explorian jar than for someone trying to reuse an Ascent container. The manual discusses a Personal Cup Adapter as a separate optional accessory; it is not part of the listed package, and its small cups have their own heat and run-time restrictions.

Reconditioned terms and cleanup

The exact U.S. page lists a three-year full warranty, and the linked manual is headed “Full 3-Year Reconditioned Machine Warranty.” That is shorter than the five-year term on the certified-reconditioned A2500 and different from new Vitamix packages. The product page currently presents two finish choices, Black and Slate, with separate SKUs; their shared description does not show a change in jar, programs, or included equipment.

The manual says the 64-ounce container can be cleaned in the dishwasher or by its water-and-soap blending procedure. It also lists the lid, lid plug, centering pad, and tamper as dishwasher-safe. The motor base should be unplugged and wiped, never immersed. Read the exact manual before using optional cups, hot ingredients, or a different container: the base family is not interchangeable just because another Vitamix jar also holds 64 ounces.

Who should consider this package?

It suits a household that wants a large jar, three timed program categories, manual control, and a manufacturer-reconditioned offer, while accepting the shorter three-year warranty and non-SELF-DETECT container family. It is less suitable if the kitchen requires a new-only product, Ascent-compatible jars, a dedicated cleaning button, a measured hot-fill amount, or an exact height-and-width guarantee. For a manual-only 64-ounce option, the new A2300 has SELF-DETECT and a longer stated warranty but no programs. For programs and SELF-DETECT, compare the reconditioned A2500; for a larger menu with a self-clean cycle, the Propel 750 is a separate new-model alternative.

Use the exact Certified Reconditioned Explorian with Programs U.S. page and the 142620 Explorian reconditioned manual. For the specific retail name and condition, search Amazon for the certified-reconditioned Explorian with Programs; listings and availability can change.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity64 oz
Included container styleLow-profile 64-ounce container
Documented variable-speed settings10
Speed and Pulse controlsThe linked manual documents manual speed 1–10, Pulse, Start/Stop and three program positions. The page names Smoothies, Hot Soup and Frozen Desserts.
Named programs/control modes3
Program categoriesThree preset food cycles; manual calls them Smoothies, Frozen Desserts and Soup; product page labels Hot Soup. No dedicated Clean cycle is listed.
Manufacturer-stated motor horsepower2.2 HP
Published machine warranty term3 years
Warranty scope and wordingThe exact product page states a three-year full warranty; the linked manual is headed Full 3-Year Reconditioned Machine Warranty.
Manufacturer offer conditioncertified_reconditioned
Published machine weight10 lb
Footprint and height noteProduct page lists 9 x 7.5 x 18 inches; the manual specifies 18 inches high with the 64-ounce jar, 8 inches wide and 11 inches deep. The footprint dimensions conflict.
Container compatibilityThe linked manual explicitly says Vitamix SELF-DETECT containers will not work with the Explorian base; the 64-ounce Explorian jar is the included plan. Do not infer the exact base suffix from the E520-named image file.
Cleaning and heat guidanceManual lists the included jar and listed parts as dishwasher-safe; clean the motor base by unplugging and wiping it.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.