Model assessment · Vitamix

Vitamix Ascent A2300 review

A new 64-ounce Ascent blender with manual speed control, Pulse, wireless container detection and a digital timer, but no named food programs.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Vitamix Ascent A2300 with a 64-ounce low-profile jar and manual dial
Exact A2300 Black page image; no additional accessory is inferred. Product-photo versus render status is uncertain. Vitamix
A useful fit for

A fit when a large Ascent-compatible jar, manual speed choice and Pulse matter more than automatic programs, and the buyer wants the new offer’s stated ten-year machine warranty.

The main tradeoff

The A2300 does not have the A2500’s three food programs, and legacy C/G/S Vitamix jars do not fit its SELF-DETECT base. Published hot-liquid amounts remain unspecified.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want a new 64-ounce Vitamix with manual speeds and no food programs?

Yes. The A2300 page describes ten manual speeds and Pulse, and does not list food programs; it includes a 64-ounce jar.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a stated ten-year machine warranty an essential floor?

The exact new A2300 page states a ten-year full machine warranty.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need the Ascent/Venturist SELF-DETECT jar system?

Yes. The included 64-ounce jar is SELF-DETECT, and the exact page identifies Ascent and Venturist compatibility.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Vitamix Ascent A2300 makes the most sense for someone who wants a large everyday jar, a manual speed dial, and a newer container system—not a button-driven recipe menu. The U.S. package lists a 64-ounce low-profile SELF-DETECT container, a matching S2 tamper, a cookbook, Pulse, ten manual speed positions, and a digital timer. It does not list automatic food programs. That distinction matters more than the “smart” label: the base detects the selected container and adjusts its maximum run time, but the A2300 still asks you to choose the speed and decide when the blend is done.

Manual control, with a timer to follow your hand

The dial covers Variable 1 through 10, and Pulse gives you a second way to interrupt a smooth blend with short bursts. The timer counts upward during manual blending; it is not a recipe countdown or a result sensor. If you want the blender to start a smoothie cycle and stop itself, look instead at the Ascent A2500 configuration or the three-program reconditioned Explorian. If you like choosing the texture as you go, the A2300 leaves that decision with you.

Wireless container detection has a practical role: the owner manual says the base and container communicate so the maximum blending time can correspond to the container in use. This is not evidence of an app recipe system, ingredient detection, or a guaranteed result. A thick mixture can still need the supplied tamper, and the manual instructs owners not to run a recipe longer or faster than its directions. The timer is a useful reminder of elapsed time, not a substitute for following a recipe or stopping when the texture suits the food.

A full-size jar, not a promise of a full hot batch

The listed 64-ounce capacity is a comparison point for family-size recipes, not a safe-to-the-rim serving target. For hot ingredients in the large jar, the A2300 manual says to secure the lid and plug, start at Variable 1, and increase gradually; it also warns against filling to maximum. The manual does not state a numeric hot-liquid allowance in ounces. If a recipe or kitchen rule requires a specific minimum amount of confirmed hot-liquid capacity, the A2300 cannot meet that requirement from the published evidence alone.

Vitamix lists the assembled machine at about 17 inches high with the 64-ounce jar and gives an 11 by 8 inch footprint. The manual confirms 17 inches high, 8 inches wide, and 11 inches deep. Leave room to lift the lid and add the tamper through its opening; the measured cabinet clearance is a household detail the product page cannot establish. The manufacturer lists a 2.2-peak-horsepower motor rating and 120-volt, 12-amp electrical specifications. Those are maker specifications, not independent power or texture tests.

Check jar compatibility before replacing an older base

The A2300’s 64-ounce jar is part of Vitamix’s Ascent SELF-DETECT system. The product page says the base is compatible with Ascent and Venturist containers, and the owner manual warns that older C-, G-, and S-Series containers do not work on the Ascent base. That makes the A2300 a better fit when you are starting with the included jar or intentionally building an Ascent-compatible collection. It is a poor “keep my old jar” choice unless Vitamix confirms the exact container is compatible.

The product page lists Black, Red, White, and Slate finishes. The exact offer SKUs differ by color, while the same page describes the same motor, jar, tamper, cookbook, controls, and warranty for the family. The stated full machine warranty is ten years. The included container, lid, lid plug, centering pad, and tamper are dishwasher-safe under the owner manual; wipe the base rather than immersing it, and unplug before cleaning.

Who should choose it?

Choose the A2300 if a 64-ounce jar and manual-only control are positives, you want the SELF-DETECT family, and you value the longer stated warranty on the new offer. It is less suitable if you rely on automatic presets, want to reuse legacy Vitamix jars, need a small personal blending cup in the box, or require a measured hot-fill quantity. The certified-reconditioned A2500 keeps the Ascent jar system but adds three food programs and has a different five-year reconditioned warranty. The certified-reconditioned Explorian with Programs also has three food programs, but its manual explicitly says SELF-DETECT jars will not work with that base. A new E320 is another manual-speed, 64-ounce option if its legacy container system and different warranty terms suit you better.

Read the A2300 U.S. product page with the A2300/A2500 owner manual before deciding which jars fit your kitchen. For the exact retail model, search Amazon for the Vitamix Ascent A2300; availability and price can vary.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity64 oz
Included container styleLow-profile 64-ounce SELF-DETECT container
Documented variable-speed settings10
Speed and Pulse controlsTen manual variable speeds and Pulse; the exact A2300 package page does not list automatic food programs. Its digital timer counts elapsed manual blending time.
Named programs/control modes0
Program categoriesNo named food program is listed for this exact A2300 offer.
Manufacturer-stated motor horsepower2.2 HP
Published machine warranty term10 years
Warranty scope and wordingThe U.S. page states a ten-year full machine warranty for this new A2300 offer. It does not transfer to the distinct certified-reconditioned A2500.
Manufacturer offer conditionnew
Published machine weight11.86 lb
Footprint and height noteThe product page lists 11 x 8 x 17 inches. The A2300/A2500 manual specifies 17 inches high, 8 inches wide and 11 inches deep with the 64-ounce jar; these values agree when the page lists depth x width x height. Allow additional space to remove the lid.
Container compatibilityThe included jar is SELF-DETECT. The exact page states Ascent and Venturist compatibility; the A2300/A2500 manual says legacy C-, G- and S-Series jars do not operate on the Ascent base.
Cleaning and heat guidanceThe manual lists the 64-ounce container, lid, lid plug, centering pad and tamper as dishwasher-safe. Unplug and wipe the base; never immerse it.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.