Model assessment · KitchenAid

KitchenAid Pure Power with Two Personal Jars review

A KitchenAid Pure Power countertop blender with a 68-ounce main jar and 2 included 16-ounce personal blending jars, plus ten manual speed levels, Pulse and three named cycle controls.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

KitchenAid Pure Power KSB2078DG in Matte Charcoal Grey with two personal jars and the 68-ounce main jar.
Two 16-ounce personal vessels are visible alongside the 68-ounce main jar. Manufacturer-supplied product image; rendering/retouching status is not confirmed, and it is not a test photograph. KitchenAid
A useful fit for

For a household that wants a 68-ounce full-size countertop jar and two 16-ounce cold personal jars in the same package, with manual speed adjustment, Pulse and named Smoothie/Ice Crushing/Clean controls.

The main tradeoff

The personal jar is not for hot ingredients or grinding, and it is a separate 16-ounce plan rather than the 68-ounce main jar. Exact warranty duration, personal-jar material and a maker-recommended finished-fill line are not confirmed in the material reviewed.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need the package with two 16-ounce personal jars rather than one?

The exact KSB2078DG page lists 2 personal jars; the other personal-jar package differs by one included vessel.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want both a family-size main jar and personal jars included?

This package has a 68-ounce main jar as well as 2 separate 16-ounce personal jars; choose the main-jar operating plan for a 64-ounce container floor.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can the 16-ounce personal jar be used for hot blends or grinding?

No. The exact W11797080A manual says not to blend hot liquids or ingredients in the Personal Jar and says it is not intended for grinding. Use it only for a cold personal-blend plan.

Explore this need in the finder →

The KitchenAid Pure Power KSB2078DG is the package to compare if you want the new Pure Power base and both a large countertop jar and a pair of small take-along jars. Its exact U.S. product page identifies the Matte Charcoal Grey SKU, a 68-ounce BPA-free plastic blender jar with lid, and two 16-ounce Personal Blender Jars with travel lids and blade assemblies. The extra cups change the package, not the motor or the number of blender bases: one person can run a full-size batch or a small cold blend, then clean and switch vessels.

Two personal jars are the distinguishing inclusion

KitchenAid lists three accessories in the box: the 68-ounce jar, its lid, and the pair of personal jars with their travel-lid and blade assemblies. The product page calls the small vessels 16 ounces (500 mL) and frames them for cold creations that can travel. If the household blends a large amount for the table and also wants small portions for the refrigerator or commute, this combination avoids buying the personal-jar attachment separately. The value is practical only if you will store and wash the cups; the pair does not let two people run the single base at once.

Read the box list carefully against the alternative KSB2079ER. That Empire Red configuration includes one personal blending jar rather than two, while retaining the 68-ounce full-size plastic jar. The two models share the core Pure Power proposition, so a need for one personal cup does not automatically justify the two-cup kit. Matte Charcoal Grey is the named 2078DG finish; the page also lists Black Matte, Empire Red and Porcelain White color options for this package family. Check the full suffix when comparing a listing or replacement jar.

Full-size jar and small-cup operation are different plans

The 68-ounce jar is the useful choice when your recipe is larger than a single serving. Its nominal size is not a promise that every blend can safely fill the vessel to the top. KitchenAid's product-page footnote says hot liquid should not exceed 40 ounces. The owner manual adds important handling directions: keep the lid center cap in place for hot ingredients, begin at the lowest speed and increase gradually. Do not apply that guidance to the Personal Blender Jar—the manual expressly says not to blend hot liquids or ingredients in it because pressure can cause a thermal burn. It also says the personal jar is not intended for grinding.

This distinction matters more than the word “personal” on a package. The model includes a full-size jar for broader family batch tasks and a separate 16-ounce vessel for cold small servings. If you need to make a hot soup batch, use the covered large-jar plan within the maker's 40-ounce hot-liquid limit and manual directions; the small cup is not the shortcut. If you need to grind dry ingredients, this personal jar is not the solution.

Controls let you choose rather than promise an outcome

The manufacturer describes a precision speed knob, ten preset speed levels, and a smooth glide between them, along with Pulse. It lists Smoothie, Ice Crushing and Clean Cycle buttons. That gives this machine both manual adjustment and named cycle buttons; it is not a controls-only base. A cycle label tells you what KitchenAid named the control, not that it senses the contents, heats a soup or produces a guaranteed texture. The listed 1,700-watt peak figure is a manufacturer rating, not a comparative test of blending speed, smoothness or durability.

For a fine-grained texture choice, the speed dial and Pulse let you stop, inspect and adjust rather than relying solely on a preset. The Clean Cycle is a separate convenience: the manual's actual clean routine is half a jar of warm water plus one or two drops of dish soap, with the lid secured and the Clean function run for 15 seconds, followed by a warm-water rinse. Do not let that quick routine replace the directions for a particularly sticky residue or a blade assembly that needs handling.

Plan for cleanup and safe assembly

The manual says the personal jar, blade assembly, lids, blender jar and lid center cap are dishwasher-safe on the top rack. It does not say to put the base or cord in water. Unplug before wiping those parts with a warm damp cloth and dry them; do not use abrasive cleaners or pads. The blades are sharp, so take care with the separate personal-jar blade assembly. Switch the blender off and unplug before you attach or remove parts, and let it cool completely before handling parts after a hot blend.

Those details make the two-cup kit a better fit for someone willing to manage one extra pair of small vessels, not necessarily someone seeking the fewest parts at the sink. If you rarely make a travel-sized drink, a package such as KitchenAid's KSB2072BM lists a 68-ounce jar and lid without personal jars. If you do want a cup but would rather not keep a spare, compare the one-cup KSB2079ER review.

Who should choose the KSB2078DG?

Consider it when you want one adjustable countertop machine, a large nominal jar, and two included cold-only 16-ounce cups. It is especially relevant if the same household rotates between family batches and portable portions. Choose a one-jar package instead if a second small vessel adds storage and washing without helping your routine. Choose a different setup if you need a documented warranty floor—the exact page and safety manual reviewed here do not establish a warranty duration—or if the small cup must handle hot mixtures or grinding. Keep the 68-ounce and 16-ounce operating plans separate in your comparison; a personal cup's presence does not make it a family-size vessel.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity68 oz
Included container style68 oz (2 L) BPA-free plastic blender jar plus 2 16 oz (500 mL) personal blending jars; capacities describe separate vessels, not one combined fill.
Documented variable-speed settings10
Speed and Pulse controlsThe manufacturer describes ten preset speed levels, with a precision speed knob that can glide between settings, plus Pulse.
Named programs/control modes3
Program categoriesThe exact page names Smoothie, Ice Crushing and Clean Cycle buttons. Clean is a cleaning function, not a recipe category; no soup or frozen-dessert cycle is listed.
Warranty scope and wordingThe exact product page and W11797080A safety/owners manual consulted here do not state a warranty term; no duration is inferred.
Manufacturer offer conditionnew
Chilly tumblers in listed package0
Cleaning and heat guidanceTop-rack dishwasher safe: personal jar, blade assembly, lids, blender jar and lid center cap. Do not immerse base or cord; unplug and wipe them with a warm damp cloth. Blades are sharp.
Included jar material68-ounce jar is BPA-free plastic; the exact page/manual does not state the personal jar material.
Included jar / additional blending setupIncluded: one 68-ounce BPA-free plastic main jar and lid plus 2 16-ounce personal blending jars with travel lid and blade assembly. The personal jar is for cold blends only and is not for grinding.
Manufacturer-stated motor rating1700 W
Manufacturer listing status when checkedExact U.S. product page and Pure Power family listing named this package on 2026-10-23. Price and availability are not asserted.
Dedicated Clean cycleThe exact page names a Clean Cycle; the manual gives a 15-second water-and-soap routine using the blender jar seated on the base.
Included personal blending jar capacity16 oz
Personal blending jars in package2
Power-rating basisThe exact product page labels 1,700 watts as peak power. It is a manufacturer specification, not a measured blending result; no operational blade-power figure is asserted from this page.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.