Model assessment · KitchenAid

KitchenAid Go Cordless Personal Blender (battery included) review

A cordless personal blender package with a 16-ounce BPA-free jar and travel lid. KSBR256BM also includes a removable KRB12 battery, USB-C cable and wall adapter. Its On/Off control runs a one-minute timed operation; Pulse runs while held. It is not intended for hot liquids or ice crushing.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Black Matte KitchenAid Go Cordless Personal Blender with one inverted 16-ounce jar on its base.
The exact-SKU manufacturer hero shows the same base/jar hardware for this offer; it does not show or establish whether the removable battery or charging pieces are included. Use the exact package contents, not this image, to distinguish battery-included from battery-sold-separately. Photo/render status uncertain. KitchenAid
A useful fit for

For someone who wants a rechargeable, outlet-free blender for one cold serving and wants the battery and listed charging cable/adapter included with the blender. The 16-ounce jar and two-button routine are the point; this is not a full-size countertop jar.

The main tradeoff

The one 16-ounce jar cannot cover larger batches; there is no speed dial or recipe program; hot liquids and direct ice crushing are not supported. Runtime is a qualified manufacturer estimate, not measured performance.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want the KSBR256BM package with its rechargeable battery in the box?

Yes. The exact Black Matte offer includes a removable KRB12 battery, USB-C cable and wall adapter as well as the blender, one 16-ounce BPA-free jar and a travel lid.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would a one-minute On/Off run plus a held Pulse button suit you instead of a speed dial or recipe programs?

The exact instructions document an automatic one-minute On/Off run and Pulse only while held; they do not list variable speeds or named recipe programs.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need one cordless personal-jar setup for cold single servings rather than a 48-ounce batch?

This package includes one 16-ounce personal jar. It is not intended for hot liquid or direct ice crushing and cannot meet a 48-ounce container minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →

The KitchenAid Go Cordless Personal Blender KSBR256BM is a one-cup blender for households that want to blend away from an outlet, or keep a cord off a busy counter. The Black Matte package includes the removable KRB12 battery, USB-C charging cable, wall adapter, one 16-ounce BPA-free jar and a travel lid. It is not a small version of a full-size blender: its jar, controls and safety limits point to cold single servings, not soups, family batches or direct ice crushing.

What arrives in the battery-included package

The exact KSBR256BM package listing names the blender, a 12V Max removable battery, charging cable, wall adapter, 16-ounce blending jar and travel lid. That is the important difference from KSBR200BM, which uses the same personal-blender base and jar but is sold without a battery. The battery's nominal voltage is 10.8V and maximum initial voltage is 12V. KitchenAid claims up to 20 minutes of continuous runtime, while warning that actual time varies by recipe, attachment, battery age and use. Treat that as the maker's battery estimate, not a promise of a certain number of smoothies.

The owner guide describes a full charge as approximately three hours. It also documents LED charge-status indicators. The separate charging dock is optional; the cable and wall adapter in this package are the listed charging pieces. The removable battery is shared across KitchenAid Go appliances, but buying a Go blender does not add the other appliances or attachments.

A one-jar routine, not a speed-dial machine

Blend in the supplied 16-ounce jar. It locks onto the base with a blade assembly, then comes off so the assembly can be removed and the travel lid fitted. KitchenAid's guide lists a single On/Off button and a Pulse button. The On/Off function runs for one minute and stops automatically; Pulse runs only while you press and hold its button. There is no variable-speed dial and no named Smoothie, Ice Crush or Clean recipe program. If you want to set a lower speed for delicate ingredients, or select a repeatable family-size routine, this is not the right control system.

The guide lists smoothies, icy drinks, shakes, dips and spreads among suggested uses. It separately warns that this personal blender is not intended to crush ice. “Icy drink” therefore should not be read as permission to feed it loose ice cubes; follow the manufacturer's recipes and ingredient order. The instructions say to put the hardest ingredients, such as frozen fruit, in first, then softer ingredients and liquids, and not to exceed the jar's fill line. The 16-ounce label describes jar capacity, not a confirmed finished-drink volume.

Heat and cleanup limits

Do not blend hot liquids in this jar. A small sealed cup can build pressure, and the owner's manual expressly rules out hot-liquid blending. The travel lid is for taking the finished drink along; the instructions say to secure it and close the drinking cap before placing the jar in a bag. That instruction does not establish that the lid is leakproof when inverted or shaken.

After use, remove the battery before cleaning or taking the assembly apart. The jar is listed as dishwasher-safe on the bottom rack; the blade assembly and travel lid go on the top rack. Wipe the base and battery rather than immersing them. The blade is sharp, and the machine can stop if a load is too heavy or jams; the guide recommends reducing the batch and, where appropriate, adding liquid rather than repeatedly forcing the motor.

Who should pick KSBR256BM?

Choose this package if the 16-ounce personal format is enough, cordless use matters, and you want a working battery and its listed charging accessories in the same box. It suits someone making occasional smoothies, shakes or icy-drink recipes at a workspace or in a kitchen where an outlet is awkward. The 20-minute claim is most useful as a portability cue, not as proof of sustained heavy-duty use.

If you already own the compatible KRB12 battery, the KSBR200BM package may avoid another battery purchase. If not, compare its separate-battery requirement with this complete power package before selecting an offer. For a family-size jar, a larger corded option such as KitchenAid's K150 or the reviewed Pure Power packages is a more sensible starting point; those models offer a different volume and control routine rather than a battery-powered single cup. The Go blender carries a one-year limited product warranty from delivery in the covered territories, subject to its terms. Independent blend-quality, noise, runtime and durability measurements are not available here, so the recommendation rests on the documented package and operating instructions—not a performance test.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity16 oz
Included container styleOne 16-ounce (473 mL) BPA-free personal blending jar with travel lid. The product guide does not state a usable finished-fill volume; stay below the jar fill line.
Documented variable-speed settings0
Speed and Pulse controlsTwo push buttons: On/Off runs its preprogrammed one-minute cycle and stops automatically; Pulse runs only while held. No variable-speed dial or recipe-program cycle is listed.
Named programs/control modes0
Published machine warranty term1 years
Warranty scope and wordingThe owner manual states a one-year limited product warranty from delivery in covered territories, subject to its written terms and exclusions.
Manufacturer offer conditionnew
Chilly tumblers in listed package0
Container compatibilityThe manual identifies KRB12 as the compatible battery for KSBR200 and KSBR256. An optional extra KSBRJA16 jar accessory is sold separately; it is not included with either blender package.
Cleaning and heat guidanceRemove the battery before disassembly/cleaning. The 16-ounce jar is dishwasher-safe on the bottom rack; the blade assembly and travel lid are top-rack safe. Wipe the base and battery; do not immerse them. Blades are sharp.
Included jar materialBPA-free plastic
Included jar / additional blending setupOne 16-ounce BPA-free personal blending jar with blade assembly and one travel lid. Battery package differs by SKU. The jar is a single-serving container; its nominal capacity is not a tested finished-drink volume.
Timed cycle detailsThe On/Off button is described as a preprogrammed one-minute run that stops automatically. This is a timed run, not a named smoothie or other recipe program.
Manufacturer listing status when checkedKitchenAid US cordless family and exact US product pages listed the KSBR200BM and KSBR256BM packages on 2026-10-23; this record does not assert price or live stock.
Dedicated Clean cycleNo dedicated Clean cycle is listed. The manufacturer gives manual washing and dishwasher placement instructions.
Included personal blending jar capacity16 oz
Personal blending jars in package1
Power sourceTrue
Battery packageIncludes the 12V Max KRB12 battery, USB-C cable and wall adapter.
Compatible battery modelKRB12
Battery nominal voltage10.8 V
Qualified manufacturer runtime claim20 minutes

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.