Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Velocity SPB-8 48 oz Blender review

Earlier Cuisinart countertop blender with a nominal 48-ounce Tritan pitcher, Touchpad Low/High/Pulse plus dedicated programmed Ice Crush; this is not a variable-speed dial or a timed Smoothie menu. Exact U.S. page shows discontinued/out of stock.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart SPB-8 White blender and pitcher
Exact Cuisinart SPB-8 White blender with its listed 48-ounce pitcher. Any staged ingredients are not package contents. Manufacturer photo/render status is unknown. Cuisinart
A useful fit for

A reference for a white 48-ounce pitcher with a dedicated Ice Crush cycle, if the 10-cube documented load and hand-wash blade fit the intended use. The exact page is discontinued/out of stock, so availability is not implied.

The main tradeoff

The manual permits hot-liquid blending with the measuring cap removed and boiling ingredients cooled for five minutes, but does not specify a numeric hot-fill amount. Its title says “SPB-8 Series” and the manual index exposes an SPB-8PK row, while the exact product page identifies SPB-8; this naming bridge is preserved without treating SPB-8PK as a verified finish/SKU variant. The manual does not establish carbonated-liquid permission.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want the exact white SPB-8 package, not an unverified SPB-8PK bundle?

The product page identifies SPB-8 White, while the index also has SPB-8PK and the manual title says SPB-8 Series. This review does not silently merge an unverified bundle.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a 48-ounce nominal pitcher adequate for your batch?

Its 48-ounce jar meets the medium capacity band but cannot meet the 64-ounce family minimum; this is nominal container size rather than a safe finished fill.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is a preset Ice Crush cycle more useful than a manual-only dial, even if blade cleanup is by hand?

The manual specifies up to ten standard cubes in Ice Crush, with jar dishwasher care but blade hand-washing. The source title and page model names retain their small mismatch.

Explore this need in the finder →

The discontinued Cuisinart VELOCITY SPB-8 is a 48-ounce pitcher blender whose control panel is more program-oriented than the similarly sized CBT-600GRY. Its exact U.S. page identifies the white SPB-8 and marks it out of stock. The page lists Low, High, Pulse and Ice Crush on an electronic touchpad with LED indicators. The linked manual is titled “ReMix6.0 600-Watt Blender SPB-8 Series,” while the product page calls this model the VELOCITY 600 Watt Blender. That naming mismatch is worth preserving when identifying an old appliance; it is not a reason to assume that every similarly named Cuisinart model uses the same package.

A dedicated Ice Crush button changes the routine

In addition to manual Low and High blending and Pulse, the SPB-8 has a separate Ice Crush button. The manual says the cycle is preset and stops on its own; it permits ice without liquid and gives a practical ceiling of ten standard cubes in that recipe direction. This is more specific than the CBT-600GRY booklet, which tells you to crush ice on High until it reaches the desired consistency but does not publish a maximum load. It is not the same as the CBT-1500P1’s ten-second Ice Crush program and up-to-14-cube recommendation, so do not transfer one model’s directions to the other.

The SPB-8’s 600-watt figure appears on its product page, but the booklet adds an important qualification: its maximum 600-watt rated-power note is based on a separate Cuisinart AFP-7 food-processor attachment, and other attachments may draw less. The SPB-8 page does not list that processor bowl among the included contents. It is therefore safer to repeat the page’s stated rating with the manual’s caveat than to treat 600 watts as measured blending power or to imply that the food processor is included.

The pitcher and ingredient rules

Cuisinart lists a 48-ounce BPA-free Tritan jar, tight-seal lid and two-ounce measuring cap. That nominal capacity is the same as the CBT-600GRY but below the CBT-1500P1’s 60-ounce jar. The sources do not establish a numeric maximum-liquid line, minimum batch or safe hot fill. The jar’s graduation is useful for measuring ingredients; it should not be substituted for a published finished-recipe capacity.

For hot work, the exact booklet says to remove the measuring-pour lid to let steam escape and to cool boiling liquid for five minutes before pouring it into the jar. The manual also prohibits boiling liquid and solid frozen food other than ice cubes or small pieces of frozen fruit; it does not provide a numeric hot-liquid allowance. Its guide permits ice-only blending, but does not say that every frozen item can be loaded alone. If the recipe depends on a particular hot volume, verify a documented allowance in another model’s manual rather than interpreting “Tritan” or “600 Watt” as a safety specification.

Care, duration and warranty context

The manual offers more precise care detail than the product page’s general “dishwasher-safe” claim. It permits the jar upside down in the dishwasher and the lid and measuring insert on the upper rack. It directs the removable blade assembly to hand-washing in warm soapy water, and says to wipe the motor base; the base must not go under water or into the dishwasher. This setup therefore satisfies a dishwasher-safe jar requirement but does not satisfy a requirement that the blade itself be dishwasher-safe.

The booklet says the blender returns to Standby after two minutes of continuous running, and a thermal overload requires unplugging and cooling before restarting. That is an operating limit, not a timed recipe cycle. The official page and the booklet list a limited three-year household warranty, but a historic warranty statement is not evidence that a used unit or its present seller is covered. Check the original model label and confirm that the jar, lid, pour cap, gasket and cutting assembly are all present and undamaged.

Who should keep the SPB-8 on a shortlist?

It is a useful earlier-model reference for someone who wants a full 48-ounce plastic pitcher, separate Low/High settings, manual Pulse and a single programmed ice routine. That control combination is distinct from the CBT-600GRY’s rotary manual-only interface and the CBT-1500P1’s larger vessel, load-sensing feature, timer and two recipe presets. The repeated “600” language does not make these three models interchangeable: capacity, interface and the ice guidance are different.

Skip the SPB-8 if a larger nominal jar, documented dishwasher-safe blade, a guaranteed hot-liquid amount, more than ten standard cubes in one ice cycle, or a current manufacturer offer is essential. Its exact U.S. page is discontinued and out of stock. As a current-reference alternative, the Cuisinart BL-200 has a smaller 48-ounce glass jar with several named drink selections but prohibits hot liquids and requires hand-washing the jar. Compare exact controls and care instructions before considering any used machine. None of these published details establishes measured blending speed, sound, or texture.

Manufacturer sources: Cuisinart SPB-8 page and the linked SPB-8 Series ReMix6.0 booklet.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity48 oz
Included container styleOne nominal 48-ounce BPA-free Tritan handled pitcher with lid and removable blade assembly.
Documented variable-speed settings2
Speed and Pulse controlsTouchpad Low/High/Pulse plus dedicated programmed Ice Crush; this is not a variable-speed dial or a timed Smoothie menu.
Named programs/control modes1
Published machine warranty term3 years
Warranty scope and wordingExact manufacturer page lists a limited three-year warranty term. It does not establish eligibility for an older or secondhand unit.
Footprint and height noteDimensions were not confirmed in the exact page view.
Cleaning and heat guidanceThe manual permits the jar upside down in a dishwasher, lid and pour cap on the upper rack, hand-washing the blade assembly, and wiping the base without immersion.
Included jar materialBPA-free Tritan plastic
Included jar / additional blending setupOne pitcher setup only; the exact selected listing does not itemize personal blend-to-go cups or a processor bowl.
Manufacturer-stated motor rating600 W
Timed cycle detailsTouchpad Low/High/Pulse plus dedicated programmed Ice Crush; this is not a variable-speed dial or a timed Smoothie menu.
Manufacturer listing status when checkedExact manufacturer page displayed discontinued and out of stock when checked 2026-10-24; this is not a current retail or secondhand availability statement.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power-rating basisThe exact product page lists 600 watts. The linked SPB-8 booklet says the maximum 600-watt rating is based on a separate AFP-7 processor attachment; the exact SPB-8 page does not list that processor as included.
Power sourceFalse
Included personal blending cups0
Food processor bowl includedNo
Blending blade dishwasher-safeNo
MAX fill guidanceThe nominal pitcher capacity is not a numeric safe finished-fill or hot-liquid maximum; no separate numeric fill threshold is assigned.
Manufacturer model / SKUSPB-8

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.