Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart SmartPower CB-9 5-Speed Blender review

Earlier U.S. Cuisinart countertop blender with a nominal 40-ounce glass jar, a 2-ounce measured pour lid and manufacturer-described five-speed touchpad with Pulse and dedicated Ice Crush. The exact manufacturer listing is discontinued and out of stock.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Exact Cuisinart CB-9 SmartPower 5-Speed blender with manufacturer-shown glass jar
Exact model is tied to the manufacturer image link on the matching U.S. product page; incidental ingredients/accessories in staged media are not implied to be package contents. Cuisinart
A useful fit for

An earlier reference for someone who specifically wants the CB-9, needs no more than its nominal 40-ounce jar, and prefers touchpad speed selection, Pulse and a dedicated pulsed Ice Crush control.

The main tradeoff

The 40-ounce jar is below the 48-ounce medium minimum; no numeric finished-fill or hot-liquid maximum is documented. The exact page is discontinued/out of stock. The five-speed maker label is not fully reconciled with every named front-panel control in the diagram; no timed drink program, processor bowl or current new stock is established.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you specifically want the earlier Cuisinart SmartPower CB-9, rather than a related SmartPower package?

The exact U.S. page identifies CB-9, Aluminum color, a 40-ounce glass jar and discontinued/out-of-stock status. The page-linked CB-9 Series booklet calls it a five-speed electronic blender with Pulse and dedicated Ice Crush.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the CB-9’s nominal 40-ounce glass jar enough, or is a 48-ounce minimum essential?

The confirmed CB-9 jar is nominally 40 ounces, so it is below the finder’s 48-ounce medium-batch threshold; its safe finished-fill line is not published.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you use the CB-9’s dedicated pulsed Ice Crush operation for a small ice load?

The manual documents ice-only crushing and a recipe example of up to 10 large cubes in short bursts; that is not permission for arbitrary frozen solids.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart SmartPower CB-9 is an earlier countertop blender with a nominal 40-ounce glass jar, a 2-ounce measured pour lid and a touchpad that Cuisinart describes as five-speed. The exact U.S. product page identifies CB-9, calls the color Aluminum, and marks the model discontinued and out of stock. It is worth assessing when you already own one or are checking a precisely identified used unit; that manufacturer status is not a promise of current retail availability.

The 40-ounce jar sets the practical boundary

Forty ounces is below the finder’s 48-ounce medium-batch threshold. A smaller jar may be a reasonable scale for a few drinks or a sauce, but it is not a 48-ounce family pitcher, and neither the product page nor the booklet supplies a safe finished-fill line. Do not translate the jar’s nominal capacity into a promise that a foamy smoothie or hot soup can be filled to 40 ounces. If your regular task needs a larger shared batch, the discontinued Cuisinart SB-5600 has a 60-ounce glass jar, while the PowerEdge CBT-700 is listed at 56 ounces; both still fall short of a strict 64-ounce requirement.

The CB-9 package is a straightforward one-jar blender rather than a processor combo. The booklet describes the wide-mouth glass jar, a dripless pour spout, removable stainless-steel blade assembly, gasket, locking ring, lid and measured cap. There is no separate food-processor bowl or blending cup in the exact package description. The glass jar can be an attractive alternative to plastic if that is your preference, but it is heavier and can chip or crack. The manual says not to use a chipped or cracked jar and cautions against rapid temperature changes: for example, do not load very cold contents into a jar straight from a hot dishwasher.

Five-speed language, with hands-on controls

Cuisinart names the CB-9 a five-speed electronic blender. The booklet describes five speeds, indicator lights and touchpad controls; Pulse is a separate short-burst control that can be used at a selected speed, and Ice Crush is a dedicated button. That is a useful manual-control arrangement, not a one-touch timed smoothie menu. The instructions explain starting the blender with On, selecting a speed, changing speeds by pressing another control and stopping with Off. They do not document a timed recipe cycle that decides when a smoothie is done.

For a cook who wants to watch the texture and stop when it is right, that direct arrangement is more relevant than a marketing claim about power. If you specifically need a named timed cycle, the earlier CBT-700 has separate Smoothie and Ice Crush programs; that distinction is about controls, not a claim that it blends better. The larger SB-5600 offers its own six-speed push-button profile with Pulse and Ice Crush, but it too is not documented as having timed drink presets. No independent performance or durability testing is represented here.

Ice and hot ingredients require the manual

The CB-9 booklet permits ice-only crushing and sets a clear small-load example: use up to 10 large ice cubes, then press Ice Crush in short bursts—up to 10 presses or until the desired consistency. This is not open-ended permission for all frozen foods. The instructions prohibit solid frozen foods apart from ice and ½-inch pieces of frozen fruit. They also say that the ice-crush routine itself works in pulses, so it is not a continuous automatic cycle.

Hot ingredients are another case for reading the original booklet. It directs users to remove the measured center lid while blending hot liquid so steam can escape. Boiling liquid must cool for five minutes before it goes into the jar, and the manual publishes no numeric maximum hot fill. If your essential need is a stated hot-soup capacity, the CB-9 evidence cannot satisfy that condition. Start with liquids before solids as the manual directs, keep the lid in place during operation, and unplug before removing the blade assembly or cleaning.

Cleanup and old-unit checks

The jar can go upside down in the dishwasher. The lid, measured cap and locking ring are listed for the upper rack, but the cutting assembly and gasket are hand-washed after disassembly. The base is wiped with a damp cloth and must not be immersed or placed in the dishwasher. That separation matters: this is not the low-effort clean-up of a single cup-and-blade unit. The manual shows the user removing and re-seating the blade, gasket and ring, so inspect the complete assembly and make sure the ring tightens correctly on any secondhand machine.

Cuisinart’s original documentation lists a limited three-year warranty term. That is not evidence that a used unit is still covered or that coverage transfers. The exact web listing’s color name also deserves a check: it says Aluminum, while the linked image appears light-colored; image rendering cannot settle a used seller’s actual finish. Compare the model plate and seller’s own photos, and verify that the 40-ounce jar, lid, cap, blade, gasket and locking ring all match before buying.

Who should consider CB-9?

This model fits someone who deliberately wants the exact earlier CB-9, is content with a nominal 40-ounce glass jar, and prefers manual push-button control with Pulse and dedicated Ice Crush rather than timed drink routines. It is a poor match for a minimum 48-ounce jar, a 64-ounce family batch, a documented hot-fill line, or a current-new-product-only search. Compared with Cuisinart’s CB-9, the SB-5600 buys a 20-ounce nominal jar increase and a 600-watt listing at the cost of a different six-speed control profile; the CBT-700 is a 56-ounce model with actual timed Smoothie and Ice Crush routines. Those are useful package distinctions, not independent rankings of finished texture.

Manufacturer sources: Cuisinart CB-9 product page and its CB-9 Series instruction booklet.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity40 oz
Included container styleOne nominal 40-ounce glass jar with lid and 2-ounce measured pour lid; no numeric safe finished-fill or hot-liquid maximum is published.
Documented variable-speed settings5
Speed and Pulse controlsCuisinart names CB-9 a five-speed electronic touchpad; Pulse at any speed and a separate Ice Crush button are documented. The booklet’s control diagram does not reconcile all five speed positions to a complete list of front-panel names; no timed recipe cycle is documented.
Named programs/control modes0
Published machine warranty term3 years
Warranty scope and wordingThe original manufacturer booklet lists a limited three-year term. It does not establish remaining eligibility, transferability, or serviceability of a used/discontinued unit.
Footprint and height noteNo exact dimensions or assembled clearance found in the inspected manufacturer product page or manual.
Cleaning and heat guidanceJar can be placed upside down in dishwasher. Lid and measured cap are upper-rack items; locking ring is also listed for the upper rack. Cutting assembly and gasket are hand-washed after unplugging and disassembly. Base is wiped with a damp cloth only, never immersed or dishwashed.
Included jar materialGlass
Included jar / additional blending setupOne nominal 40-ounce glass jar on one countertop blending setup; no additional blending container or separate processor is documented for this exact package.
Timed cycle detailsNo timed recipe program or one-touch countdown is documented in the exact product page/manual. Named speed controls and pulsed Ice Crush are not counted as timed recipe cycles.
Manufacturer listing status when checkedThe exact Cuisinart U.S. page displayed Discontinued and Out Of Stock on 2026-10-24; current third-party inventory, used condition and transfer of warranty are not established.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power-rating basisThe exact manufacturer page/manual does not state motor wattage; no power rating is inferred.
Power sourceFalse
Included personal blending cups0
Food processor bowl includedNo
Blending blade dishwasher-safeNo
MAX fill guidanceNominal jar capacity is not a promised finished batch or safe hot-fill amount; no corresponding numeric limit is published in the exact page/manual.
Manufacturer model / SKUCB-9
Reversible processor slicing/shredding disc includedFalse

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.