Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Personal Portable Blender PBL-100 review

A cordless personal blender with one nominal 18-ounce travel cup, a rechargeable USB-C base, and separately selected Blend and Smoothie functions. The blade assembly stays fixed to the cup when it is carried without the base.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart PBL-100 cordless blender with the graduated 18-ounce cup attached to its rechargeable base
Exact PBL-100 manufacturer image: the single graduated travel/blending cup, fixed blade assembly, two-button base and snap-spout lid are shown. The exact product page labels its selected finish Tan; staged photography/render status is unknown. Cuisinart
A useful fit for

A single cold personal drink when cordless charging, an 18-ounce nominal cup, named Blend/Smoothie selections, and carrying the cup without the motor base fit the routine.

The main tradeoff

The cup has one permanently mounted sharp blade assembly and no numeric safe-fill amount is published. Hot and carbonated liquids are prohibited; there is no family pitcher or second cup, no documented dry-grinding use, and the manual says not to use it outdoors.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you want cordless operation with the PBL-100’s separate Blend and Smoothie function selections?

The exact U.S. PBL-100 is rechargeable by USB-C and its PBL100 Series booklet names Blend and Smoothie; the booklet gives 30 seconds for the default Blend cycle and limits a single cycle to 30 seconds. It does not state the Smoothie duration or promise a measured texture.

Explore this need in the finder →
Must the drink cup separate from the motor base after blending?

Yes. The PBL-100 cup can be unlocked and carried with the snap-spout lid, but its sharp blade assembly stays permanently attached to the cup; it is not a blade-free tumbler.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require a documented allowance for blending hot liquids?

No. The PBL100 Series booklet prohibits hot liquids in the travel cup. The cup is for cold drinks; a hot-liquid requirement should exclude this model.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart Personal Portable Blender PBL-100 is a cordless, one-cup system for preparing a cold drink directly in the cup you take away. Its U.S. product page identifies the color as Tan and lists an 18-ounce travel cup, USB-C charging, and separate Blend and Smoothie selections. The cup’s blade assembly stays fixed to that cup; the rechargeable base twists off after blending, and an included snap-spout lid closes the cup for carrying. That arrangement is the key choice: it leaves the drink vessel on its own, but you still need to handle the sharp blade assembly attached at the bottom.

A one-serving cup, not a small family pitcher

The PBL-100’s single travel cup is marked at 18 ounces by the maker. That is a nominal vessel size, not a promise that an 18-ounce finished drink can be safely filled to the rim. The booklet points to a MAX FILL line but does not state its numerical volume in the text. There is no larger pitcher, spare cup, or separately supplied grinding jar in the described package. If you need several servings ready together, prefer a full-size countertop model; if you only need one cold drink and like having the cup become the take-away vessel, this smaller arrangement makes more sense.

The product page says the blender can process ice and frozen fruit. The instructions advise adding liquid first, then softer ingredients, then hard ingredients such as ice or frozen fruit. That does not establish standalone ice-only crushing, a particular smoothie texture, or lab-measured power: the PBL-100 is a small personal cup with no separate tamper or pitcher listed. For a thick recipe, heed the fill line and the booklet’s loading sequence rather than assuming that more frozen ingredients will improve the result.

Two named functions and a rechargeable base

The U.S. instruction booklet describes two buttons: Power and Function. Function selects Blend or Smoothie; Power starts the selected routine. The booklet says the default Blend cycle is 30 seconds and a new cycle can be started afterward, with 30 seconds the maximum for one cycle. It does not itemize a separate Smoothie duration or explain a different speed profile, so the useful distinction is the named selection, not a promised texture advantage. There is no manual speed dial or named Pulse control.

Cuisinart describes a USB-C rechargeable base and claims up to 20 blends per charge. The series booklet gives a different kind of figure: about 20 minutes of operation depending on load, with an approximately two-hour full charge under its stated room-temperature condition. Those are manufacturer statements, not a measured endurance test; ingredients and repeated cycles affect real use. The booklet specifies an 11.1-volt rechargeable base and a 5V USB charging supply rated no more than 3A. A charging cable is included, but the exact product page does not itemize a separate wall adapter, so do not assume one is in the box.

Portability comes with specific limits

After a cycle has stopped, the cup can be unlocked from the motor base and closed with the spout lid. The blade remains permanently fixed to the cup, so this is not a blade-free drinking tumbler. Keep hands clear of it and do not try to remove it for washing. The included carrying loop and spout lid make the cup a practical one-serving take-away vessel, but recharge planning still matters: the page claims up to 20 blends per charge, a maker statement rather than a measured day-long use result. Check the charge indicator before relying on it away from an outlet. The manual also says not to use the appliance outdoors, so “portable” should not be read as outdoor-use approval.

The maker’s instructions prohibit hot liquids and carbonated drinks in the cup. That rules out hot soup, fizzy drinks and other pressurized recipes here. Use the MAX line, fit the lid before running, and keep the motor base away from water. The cup and lid are top-rack dishwasher-safe; the base is for wiping clean, not submerging or putting in a dishwasher. The booklet offers a short soapy-water cleaning routine using a cycle, but that is a manual cleanup method, not a dedicated Clean button. Its stated U.S. limited warranty is three years; a warranty term does not predict service life.

Who it suits and what to compare

Choose the PBL-100 if a single cold serving, cordless charging, separate Blend/Smoothie selections and a cup that comes off the base with its blade attached fit your routine. It is not the right match for hot blending, multiple personal cups, dry grinding, countertop-size batches or outdoor operation. A cup’s printed ounces also do not tell you how much a foamy or thick recipe should contain; the manual’s maximum-fill mark remains the practical limit.

For a similar 18-ounce cordless routine whose cup and motor stay together for drinking, compare the Ninja Blast BC151WH. If carrying only a cup without the motor base is important, the PBL-100 does separate that way, while the blade stays on the cup; compare that layout carefully with the distinct removable-blade Flex system from nutribullet. On the finder, the PBL-100 answers the cordless and 18-ounce questions, but its documented cold-only use should fail a hot-liquid requirement. Requiring a 48-ounce pitcher also removes it. Match the exact PBL-100 name and Tan finish when looking for this package, and check current availability separately rather than treating a listed configuration as a stock guarantee.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity18 oz
Included container styleOne 18-ounce nominal travel cup with blade assembly permanently mounted in the cup, a snap-spout lid/carrying loop and rechargeable base. The cup twists off the base after blending; the blade remains fixed to the cup. Numeric MAX fill-line volume is not published in inspected text.
Documented variable-speed settings0
Speed and Pulse controlsTwo-button Power/Function panel. Function selects Blend or Smoothie; Power starts the selected cycle. The booklet states a default Blend cycle of 30 seconds and a 30-second maximum for one cycle. It does not provide a separate Smoothie duration or speed curve.
Named programs/control modes2
Program categoriesTwo named function selections, Blend and Smoothie. The booklet states default Blend 30 seconds and maximum single cycle 30 seconds; the separate Smoothie duration and control curve are not stated. These names do not establish measured texture or performance.
Published machine warranty term3 years
Warranty scope and wordingExact U.S. product page and PBL100 Series booklet identify a three-year limited U.S. consumer warranty; this is not a service-life estimate.
Manufacturer offer conditionnew
Footprint and height noteCuisinart lists 4.11 x 3.7 x 11.69 inches; this does not establish overhead clearance for operation.
Timed cycle detailsThe manual says the default Blend cycle is 30 seconds and one blending cycle may not exceed 30 seconds; a further cycle is started separately. No separate Smoothie time is inferred.
Manufacturer listing status when checkedThe exact Cuisinart U.S. product page displayed Add to Cart when checked. This does not guarantee current inventory, retailer stock, delivery or future offer terms.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power-rating basisNo motor wattage, horsepower or measured blending performance was established. The manual specifies 11.1 V for the rechargeable base, not a mains-motor wattage.
Power sourceTrue
Battery nominal voltage11.1 V
Qualified manufacturer runtime claim20 minutes
Smaller blending cup label18 oz
All included cups are top-rack safeYes
Included personal blending cups0
Charging input voltage5 V
Manufacturer-stated full charge time2 hours
Portable blender control routinetwo_named_blend_smoothie_modes
Drink vessel separates from base for carryingYes
MAX fill guidanceThe booklet instructs users not to exceed the MAX FILL mark but provides no numeric ounce value for that line in the inspected text. Nominal 18-ounce cup size is not a safe fill amount.
Manufacturer model / SKUPBL-100

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.