Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart CBB-1200 Inverted Blender review

An earlier 56-ounce copolyester-jar countertop blender with ten manual speed positions and Pulse; its manual allows a vented hot batch of no more than one pint.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart CBB-1200 Stainless Steel-finish base with its 56-ounce inverted cloverleaf carafe
Exact CBB-1200 manufacturer image. The model is marked discontinued/out of stock; photograph/render status is unknown. Cuisinart
A useful fit for

For an earlier-model owner or used-market researcher who wants a large single carafe, ten manual speed positions, held Pulse and a manual that documents small, vented hot batches. Its inverted carafe and unusual hot-use allowance are distinctive, but the manufacturer marks this exact model discontinued and out of stock.

The main tradeoff

The nominal 56-ounce copolyester jar has no confirmed numeric fill line, it is a one-jar wall-powered setup, and the hot manual limit is just one pint. The exact page and linked booklet disagree on warranty term; no warranty minimum should count. The unit is not a current manufacturer offer.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Would you specifically choose the earlier Cuisinart CBB-1200 inverted-carafe package?

Cuisinart's exact page identifies the CBB-1200 Stainless Steel-finish inverted blender, but marks it discontinued and out of stock; include earlier models to see this reference.

Explore this need in the finder →
Does a 56-ounce jar with ten manual speed positions meet your large-batch, hands-on-control preference?

The manual calls the carafe 56 ounces and lists speeds 1 through 10 plus Pulse. The 56-ounce label is not a published safe recipe fill amount.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need documented hot blending of a small, vented batch rather than a full pot of soup?

The booklet allows hot ingredients up to one pint, with the center lid plug removed and blending started at the lowest speed. It does not authorize larger hot batches.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Cuisinart CBB-1200 is an earlier full-size blender with an unusual design detail that matters more than its horsepower badge: a 56-ounce inverted carafe. The exact U.S. page calls the stainless-steel-finish model discontinued and out of stock. This is therefore a useful reference for identifying a CBB-1200 you already own or are considering secondhand, not a current-model purchase recommendation. The linked booklet documents ten manual speed positions, Pulse and a narrow but real hot-blending allowance. It does not establish a measured texture advantage for the inverted jar.

One large, non-glass carafe

The CBB-1200 uses a single 56-ounce cloverleaf carafe made from copolyester, not glass. It is graduated, has a handle and fits over the base in the inverted layout shown in Cuisinart's exact image. The package described across its page and manual includes the motor base, carafe, two-piece lid and removable two-ounce measuring cup. No personal drink cup, second jar, processor bowl or separate grinder is documented.

Use the 56-ounce figure as nominal vessel capacity, not a recipe target. The manual warns against filling above the carafe's MAX line but does not attach a numeric amount to that mark. If your batch has to meet a measured finished-fill minimum, this model cannot satisfy it from the information found. The inverted shape is a package identity, not evidence that it blends faster, more evenly or more quietly; no independent performance test is claimed here.

Ten numbered speeds, plus a separate Pulse

The manual describes a variable-speed dial with positions 1 through 10 and a START/STOP control. Pulse is a separate press-and-hold button: the booklet says it overrides speed 10 at 23,000 RPM. Cuisinart's product page lists a 1,000-to-20,000 RPM dial range and also advertises 1,200 watts and 1.75 horsepower. Those are manufacturer specifications, not measured power at the blade, and RPM alone does not predict a finished result. There are no named Smoothie or Soup programs in the CBB-1200 booklet, so this is the better-defined choice only if manual speed adjustment is what you want.

The booklet advises adding liquid before solids unless a recipe says otherwise, cutting suitable foods into roughly one-inch pieces, and using Pulse for short bursts such as ice cubes. That gives a practical starting routine, not a promise that every frozen, thick or low-liquid recipe will move through the carafe. The manual does not state a numeric minimum batch or an ice-only load limit.

A documented but small hot-blending allowance

Unlike many personal blenders, this manual does permit hot material in the main carafe—but only under specific precautions. It treats ingredients at or above 100°F as hot, limits the batch to one pint (16 ounces), requires removing the center plug from the two-piece lid before starting, and says to begin at the lowest speed before increasing. Steam can escape, so the instructions warn not to stand directly over the blender or place a hand on top while it runs. Carbonated liquids are prohibited. The 16-ounce allowance is not permission to blend a full pot of hot soup, and the jar's nominal 56-ounce capacity does not change that limit.

For cold mixtures, the Pulse control can be used for ice cubes. Cuisinart does not publish a maximum ice-only load. The CBB-1200's 120-volt-only manual also rules out treating it as a travel appliance for another voltage; it is a wall-powered countertop model.

Cleaning and ownership caveats

The manual says the carafe may be washed on the dishwasher's top rack or by hand. The two-piece lid is also described as dishwasher-safe. Work carefully around the cutting blades, unplug the base for cleaning, and wipe it rather than immersing it. The booklet includes a hands-on soap-and-water routine, but the machine has no dedicated Clean program. These are useful distinctions if you are comparing it with a blender that advertises an automatic cleaning cycle or a jar that must be hand-washed.

There is a warranty discrepancy worth keeping visible. The exact product page says “Limited Five Year Motor Warranty,” while the CBB-1200 booklet contains a “Limited Three-Year Warranty” section. Because the sources disagree about both duration and scope—and the page marks the model discontinued—this review does not assign a single warranty term or count it toward a minimum. A used listing, old stock or a replacement part should not be assumed to carry either promise; check the actual seller's condition and documentation.

Who should keep the model in view?

For a shopper comparing old Cuisinart designs, the CBB-1200 stands apart from the BL-200: its carafe is nominally larger and copolyester rather than glass; it offers ten manual speed positions rather than five; and its own manual allows up to one pint of vented hot ingredients. The BL-200 instead has its own named routines and glass pitcher, but its booklet prohibits hot liquids. Neither difference tells you which one blends better. Choose based on the vessel, control style and manual limits—not the word “Hurricane” or a horsepower figure.

If you already have a CBB-1200, verify the model label on the base and keep the booklet's venting and one-pint ceiling with the appliance. If you are looking to buy, treat this as an earlier-model reference: Cuisinart labels the exact U.S. page discontinued and out of stock, and the sources here do not verify present retailer stock, used condition, completeness or repair-part availability. A current blender with documented hot use may be a safer direction if hot soup is a recurring need; for a large cold pitcher, compare current full-size packages and their own manuals instead.

Manufacturer sources: Cuisinart CBB-1200 product page and its linked Inverted Blender instruction booklet.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity56 oz
Included container styleOne graduated, 56-ounce inverted cloverleaf carafe. The manual says not to fill above its MAX line but no numeric safe finished-recipe amount is established here.
Documented variable-speed settings10
Speed and Pulse controlsThe Inverted Blender booklet identifies manual settings 1 through 10, START/STOP and a held Pulse. No automatic recipe program is identified.
Named programs/control modes0
Program categoriesNo named automatic food cycles are listed in the CBB-1200 booklet or exact page.
Manufacturer-stated motor horsepower1.75 HP
Warranty scope and wordingConflict: the exact product page says Limited Five Year Motor Warranty; the linked booklet has a Limited Three-Year Warranty section for U.S./Canada. No unified duration or scope is assumed, and the model is discontinued/out of stock.
Footprint and height noteNo exact-page dimensions or weight were confirmed; no clearance claim is made.
Cleaning and heat guidanceThe booklet says the carafe can be cleaned on the dishwasher's top rack or by hand. It warns that blade edges are sharp; unplug and wipe the base rather than immersing it. It describes a manual soap-and-water cleaning routine, not a dedicated Clean cycle.
Included jar materialBPA-free copolyester
Included jar / additional blending setupOne 56-ounce carafe with a two-piece lid and removable two-ounce measuring cup; no second jar, travel cup or processor bowl is documented.
Manufacturer-stated motor rating1200 W
Manufacturer listing status when checkedThe exact U.S. Cuisinart page labels CBB-1200 discontinued and Out Of Stock. No current seller, condition, completeness or warranty transfer is verified.
Published base material / finishThe manual calls the waterfall-style base die-cast metal. The page uses Stainless Steel as the color/finish label; that does not establish that the housing itself is stainless steel.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power sourceFalse
Included personal blending cups0
MAX fill guidanceThe 56-ounce figure is the labeled carafe capacity, not a confirmed recipe fill limit. The manual refers to a physical MAX line without assigning a numeric amount.
Manufacturer model / SKUCBB-1200
Documented hot-liquid maximum in selected vessel16 oz

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.