Model assessment · Cuisinart

Cuisinart Hurricane Velocity CBT-1500P1 Blender review

Earlier Cuisinart countertop blender with a nominal 60-ounce Tritan pitcher, Manual Low/High/Pulse, timed Smoothie 60 seconds and Ice Crush 10 seconds, LCD timer and load-sensing system. Exact U.S. page shows discontinued/out of stock.

Sources checked 2026-10-24 · Our editorial approach

Earlier model: use this assessment to identify an existing product or check a specific offer. Match the exact suffix, instructions and seller terms.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Cuisinart CBT-1500P1 Gray P1 blender and pitcher
Exact Cuisinart CBT-1500P1 Gray P1 blender with its listed 60-ounce pitcher. Any staged ingredients are not package contents. Manufacturer photo/render status is unknown. Cuisinart
A useful fit for

A reference for a larger pitcher and timed named routines when the exact 60-ounce jar, 14-cube Ice Crush load and used-unit condition are acceptable. The page is discontinued/out of stock, so it is not a current-stock recommendation.

The main tradeoff

The manual permits hot-liquid handling only with its two-piece lid center insert removed and boiling liquid cooled for five minutes; it prohibits carbonated liquid. The nominal 60-ounce vessel is not a numeric hot-fill permission. The maker markets a double-housing body as quiet; no sound test is claimed here. The product-page weight appears as 7.7 with no unit, retained as unknown.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need the exact Gray P1 CBT-1500P1 package rather than a different Hurricane or Velocity?

The exact selected SKU is the Gray P1 package with one 60-ounce Tritan pitcher, timer and two programmed routines; the page marks it discontinued/out of stock.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the nominal 60-ounce jar large enough, while a 64-ounce floor remains unmet?

Cuisinart lists 60 ounces, but the manual does not state a numeric hot-fill allowance. A 60-ounce jar cannot satisfy a 64-ounce minimum.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want timed Smoothie and Ice Crush presets with a stated ice-cube load?

The guide describes a 60-second Smoothie and 10-second Ice Crush routine with up to 14 standard cubes. The “quiet” description remains a manufacturer claim, not a sound measurement.

Explore this need in the finder →

The discontinued Cuisinart Hurricane Velocity CBT-1500P1 is the larger, more automated model in this three-blender comparison. Its Gray P1 package pairs a nominal 60-ounce Tritan jar with an LCD timer, load-sensing technology and two named routines: Smoothie and Ice Crush. Cuisinart’s current U.S. page calls it discontinued and out of stock, so this is an exact-model reference for an existing machine or secondhand offer—not a new-stock promise.

Two automatic routines, plus manual Low, High and Pulse

The control pad is not just a power dial. Cuisinart lists Low and High, Pulse, a preprogrammed Smoothie function, a preprogrammed Ice Crush function and an LCD countdown timer. The booklet describes the Smoothie cycle as one minute and the Ice Crush cycle as a 10-second program. It recommends no more than 14 standard ice cubes for that ice cycle. Those documented routines are practical when the same drink or small ice batch comes up often; they do not prove that every recipe will finish in the selected time or produce a particular texture. Low and High remain manual choices, and Pulse lets you control short bursts at either speed.

The page also names automatic load-sensing technology and a double-housing design promoted as quiet. Those are Cuisinart feature claims, not independent measurements of motor loading or sound. There is no published decibel value here, and the “2.25 peak HP” wording should not be converted into a continuous horsepower or watt figure. Cuisinart lists the motor at 2.25 peak horsepower; the reviewed page/manual do not substantiate a separate 1,500-watt motor rating.

A 60-ounce mark is not a hot-fill allowance

The included vessel is a BPA-free Tritan plastic pitcher with a soft-touch handle and a two-ounce measuring cap. Cuisinart calls it 60 ounces; the manual does not provide a separate numeric recommended finished-batch line or a numeric hot-liquid maximum. For comparison, the CBT-600GRY and SPB-8 each list a 48-ounce pitcher. A 60-ounce jar clears a 48-ounce nominal-capacity preference but not a 64-ounce minimum. It is still one pitcher, not two smaller blend-and-carry cups, and the exact offer does not list a food-processor bowl.

The booklet documents hot-liquid handling but with restrictions: take the center insert out of the two-piece lid when blending hot liquid, let boiling ingredients cool five minutes before adding them, and do not use carbonated liquids. It also says not to load solid frozen foods other than ice cubes or small pieces of frozen fruit. No source reviewed here gives a numeric hot fill, so the 60-ounce nominal jar size should never be promoted as a 60-ounce hot-soup capacity. If an exact hot-volume floor matters, this model cannot meet it on the evidence available.

What the timer and housing do—and do not—tell you

The countdown display lets you set a duration and the preset routines have specified cycle lengths, which is different from a count-up timer that merely shows elapsed time. The documented ice program also stops when its cycle ends. This is useful operation information, but the page’s performance language about pulverizing food and blending quietly is still manufacturer copy. It is not a lab result, a noise guarantee or evidence that the device should be left unattended. The booklet requires the lid to stay in place while running and says not to touch the jar pad after use if it is hot.

The exact page lists dimensions of 9.47 by 7.68 by 17.08 inches and shows a weight of “7.7” without publishing a unit in the rendered specification. The image depicts the gray P1 base and handled pitcher; it is a manufacturer image and does not prove what accessories a used seller has retained. At more than 17 inches tall, check the height on your counter and the manual’s placement directions rather than assuming it will fit beneath cabinetry.

Cleaning and older-unit checks

The page and manual describe removable dishwasher-safe pieces, but the booklet’s directions should guide care: it gives separate handling instructions for the jar, lid and blade assembly, and the base should be wiped rather than immersed. The sharp four-prong blade assembly is not a disposable or interchangeable detail; inspect the jar, blade block, gasket, cover and measuring cap before using a used unit. The page lists a limited three-year warranty, but a documented original term does not prove coverage for an old or secondhand purchase. The present manufacturer page is out of stock.

Who it suits beside its 600-watt siblings

Keep the CBT-1500P1 in view when a 60-ounce nominal jar, a timer display and separate Smoothie/Ice Crush programs are more useful than a completely manual dial. Its documented 14-cube ice cycle gives a more specific routine than the CBT-600GRY manual’s open-ended “run on High until desired” instruction. The SPB-8 sits between them in control style: its 48-ounce jar is still smaller, but its dedicated touchpad Ice Crush button automatically ends a cycle and its guide says to load up to ten standard cubes.

Choose the CBT-600GRY instead if your preference is a basic Low/High/Pulse dial with no programmed recipe control. Choose a different configuration if you need a 64-ounce vessel, confirmed dishwasher-safe blades, a documented hot fill or bundled personal cups. The exact CBT-1500P1 sources identify these strengths and limits; they do not support an overall ranking or a guarantee of texture, speed or quietness.

Manufacturer sources: Cuisinart CBT-1500P1 page and its Hurricane instruction and recipe booklet.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity60 oz
Included container styleOne nominal 60-ounce BPA-free Tritan handled pitcher with lid and removable blade assembly.
Documented variable-speed settings2
Speed and Pulse controlsManual Low/High/Pulse, timed Smoothie 60 seconds and Ice Crush 10 seconds, LCD timer and load-sensing system.
Named programs/control modes2
Manufacturer-stated motor horsepower2.25 HP
Published machine warranty term3 years
Warranty scope and wordingExact manufacturer page lists a limited three-year warranty term. It does not establish eligibility for an older or secondhand unit.
Footprint and height noteExact manufacturer page lists dimensions in inches.
Cleaning and heat guidanceUse the exact manual care directions for removable parts: jar and lid are dishwasher-safe in the stated placements, blade assembly is hand-washed, and the motor base is wiped, not immersed.
Included jar materialBPA-free Tritan plastic
Included jar / additional blending setupOne pitcher setup only; the exact selected listing does not itemize personal blend-to-go cups or a processor bowl.
Timed cycle detailsManual Low/High/Pulse, timed Smoothie 60 seconds and Ice Crush 10 seconds, LCD timer and load-sensing system.
Manufacturer listing status when checkedExact manufacturer page displayed discontinued and out of stock when checked 2026-10-24; this is not a current retail or secondhand availability statement.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power-rating basisThe page uses the manufacturer claim “2.25 peak HP.” The inspected page/manual do not substantiate a separate 1,500-watt rating; peak horsepower is not a measured continuous rating.
Power sourceFalse
Included personal blending cups0
Food processor bowl includedNo
Blending blade dishwasher-safeNo
MAX fill guidanceThe nominal pitcher capacity is not a numeric safe finished-fill or hot-liquid maximum; no separate numeric fill threshold is assigned.
Manufacturer model / SKUCBT-1500P1

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.