Your needs, this model
Does it fit your priorities?
Do you need this exact earlier Cuisinart SBC-1000 package with an integrated glass-jar heater?
The exact Black U.S. SBC-1000 page identifies the discontinued Blend and Cook Soup Maker. The one jar heats and then blends after the heater stops; it does not heat and blend simultaneously.
Explore this need in the finder →Is the maker-documented 48-ounce hot mark enough when the same jar is also labeled 56 ounces cold?
The manual gives separate hot and cold capacities. Use no more than the 48-ounce HOT mark for soup, and do not treat the 56-ounce cold mark as a hot limit.
Explore this need in the finder →Do four manual speeds plus Pulse and Stir suit your routine better than five or more speeds?
The manual documents four blending speeds, Pulse and a separate Stir control; hot blending is restricted to speeds 1 through 3.
Explore this need in the finder →The Cuisinart SBC-1000 Blend and Cook Soup Maker is an earlier countertop blender whose defining feature is an electric heating plate under its blending jar. That is a real difference from a conventional pitcher blender: it can warm and cook ingredients in the same glass vessel, then blend them after the heating stage has ended. It cannot heat and blend simultaneously, and it is not a push-button automatic soup recipe machine. Cuisinart's exact U.S. page marks it discontinued and out of stock, so this assessment is useful for identifying an existing or secondhand unit, not as a current purchase recommendation.
One jar, with different hot and cold limits
The included jar is described as thermal-shock-resistant glass, with capacity marks for 56 ounces cold and 48 ounces hot. Treat those as separate manufacturer limits, not a finished-batch guarantee: the fill ceiling changes when the contents are hot, and the manual emphasizes clear steam vents and careful lid handling. The recipe jar and heating assembly share one wide-mouth glass container; there is no personal travel cup, second blending jar or processor bowl documented for this model.
The removable jar collar combines the blades and the nonstick heating plate. That arrangement lets you sauté, simmer, boil or reheat in the jar, according to the product page and booklet. It also means that cleaning and serving a just-cooked batch require attention to the hot collar underneath the jar. The manual warns that this assembly can be very hot and says not to touch its underside after cooking.
Cooking is a manual stage, not a recipe program
For a heating cycle, the booklet says to set a countdown first, then choose Low, Medium or High heat. The timer runs in one-minute increments up to 30 minutes. The temperature settings do not correspond to a published numeric cooking temperature, and the machine does not identify named automatic soup recipes. Cuisinart lists a 900-watt cooking element; this is the heater's rating, not a stated blender-motor wattage. The exact page and booklet do not establish a blender motor power figure.
When the cooking time is done, you can blend the contents in the same jar, but the booklet says blending and cooking cannot operate together. Start hot soups at speed 1 and use only speeds 1 through 3 for hot ingredients. Do not overfill the hot jar above its 48-ounce mark, keep the lid vent opening clear, and take care when releasing steam. This workflow can reduce transfers between a saucepan and blender, but the maker's directions are still manual and sequential; the machine does not do the whole recipe unattended.
Four speeds plus Pulse and a separate Stir control
Cold blending uses a rotary control with four speed positions and Pulse. The separate Stir button is intended to move ingredients gently and is available during cooking or blending. Heat, time, blending speed, Pulse and Stir are distinct controls rather than a set of named smoothie presets. Cuisinart says the stainless-steel blades can crush ice, but neither the page nor the booklet gives a maximum ice-only batch or a guaranteed result for a particular recipe.
For cold mixtures, the manual recommends adding liquids first and then solids, and cutting most food into pieces roughly one-half to one inch for a more uniform result. These are useful operating directions, not independent performance measurements. The booklet also says not to use this blender to mash potatoes, knead heavy dough or beat egg whites. If you mainly want a fast preset-driven drink routine, this older manual-control layout is a less direct fit than a blender whose exact package lists the programs you prefer.
Cleaning takes more steps than a self-clean claim suggests
The manual allows the glass jar, lid, gasket and measuring cup on the dishwasher's upper rack. The blade collar and heating plate are different: the collar/blade assembly is not dishwasher-safe and must not be submerged. Let the plate cool, use the included brush for its nonstick surface, and avoid abrasive tools. The motor base should be wiped with a damp cloth, never immersed. The booklet gives a soap-and-water blending routine for the jar, but there is no dedicated Clean cycle. Someone seeking the fewest cleanup steps should weigh the non-dishwasher-safe collar and hot plate against the benefit of cooking in the blender.
Warranty and ownership context
Unlike an unverified used listing, the manufacturer's page and linked U.S. booklet both state a limited three-year warranty for this model. That historical warranty statement is not a promise that a secondhand or old-stock unit is still covered. The current product page says out of stock and discontinued; it does not establish present seller availability, package completeness, condition or replacement-part supply. Cuisinart continues to list separate parts such as the jar, lid, pour-measuring cap and gasket, but an accessory listing does not confirm the condition of a particular appliance.
Who should keep the SBC-1000 in view?
It is most relevant to someone who wants the maker-documented option to heat and blend soup in one glass jar, accepts a 48-ounce hot-fill ceiling, and is comfortable with manual timer/temperature controls and a separate blend stage. It is a poor fit if your essential need is simultaneous heating and blending, a larger hot fill, a personal cup, preset automation, or an entirely dishwasher-safe blade/heater assembly.
For comparison, the discontinued Cuisinart CBB-1200 is a conventional inverted blender with a 56-ounce copolyester jar and a much smaller one-pint hot-blending allowance; it has ten manual speed positions but no integrated heater. The BL-200 has a 48-ounce glass jar and named routines, yet its manual prohibits hot liquids. Those choices differ in workflow and care—not in a measured ranking of blending quality. Verify the model plate and manual before using an older appliance, especially after storage or a change in jar condition.
Manufacturer sources: Cuisinart SBC-1000 product page, its instruction booklet, and the linked quick reference.
Key details at a glance
| Manufacturer-listed container capacity | 56 oz |
|---|---|
| Included container style | One thermal-shock-resistant glass jar with distinct manufacturer markings: up to 56 oz cold and 48 oz hot. The 48-oz hot line is not interchangeable with the 56-oz cold capacity. |
| Documented variable-speed settings | 4 |
| Speed and Pulse controls | Manual blending uses four speed positions plus Pulse; the separate Stir button moves ingredients gently. Heating requires a timer and Low/Medium/High setting; these are manual controls, not automatic recipe programs. |
| Named programs/control modes | 0 |
| Program categories | No named automatic soup, smoothie or other recipe cycle is documented. Heat level and timer are manual settings, not a programmed recipe menu. |
| Published machine warranty term | 3 years |
| Warranty scope and wording | Exact U.S. product page states Limited 3-year warranty; the linked booklet also contains a Limited Three-Year Warranty for household use. This historical term does not establish current coverage or transfer for a used or old-stock machine. |
| Footprint and height note | No exact dimensions or machine weight confirmed in the exact page/manual. |
| Cleaning and heat guidance | Manual allows jar, lid, gasket and measuring cup on the upper dishwasher rack. The collar/blade/heater assembly is not dishwasher-safe and must not be submerged. Let the heating plate cool and clean it with the included brush, avoiding abrasives. Wipe the base; do not immerse it. The manual gives a soapy-water blend routine, not an automatic Clean cycle. |
| Included jar material | thermal-shock-resistant glass |
| Included jar / additional blending setup | One jar serves the heating and blending use; the exact page and manual give 48 oz hot and 56 oz cold marks. No personal cup, second jar or processor bowl is listed. |
| Timed cycle details | The timer is a manually selected cooking countdown up to 30 minutes in one-minute steps; this is not a one-touch recipe cycle. |
| Manufacturer listing status when checked | The exact manufacturer U.S. page marks SBC-1000 discontinued and Out Of Stock. No current seller, condition, completeness or warranty transfer is verified. |
| Published base material / finish | Exact page states Black finish; motor-base housing material is not stated in the reviewed page/manual. |
| Personal blending jars in package | 0 |
| Power source | False |
| Included personal blending cups | 0 |
| Blending blade dishwasher-safe | No |
| MAX fill guidance | Manual directs soup to stay at or below the 48-ounce HOT mark; exact safe finished-cold-batch volume is not stated. |
| Cooking element rating (not blender motor) | 900 W |
| Heating and blending sequence | The same jar supports heat and blend in sequence. The exact manual expressly says the functions cannot operate simultaneously. |
| Manufacturer model / SKU | SBC-1000 |
| Documented hot-liquid maximum in selected vessel | 48 oz |
Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.
Sources for this assessment
Choose around the way you blend.
Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.
