Model assessment · Breville

Breville Boss To Go review

A discontinued single-serve blender with two directly blending tumblers: a nominal 23-ounce large cup and a 16-ounce companion. The US page and matching BPB600 manual agree on those cup labels, although machine-readable page data conflicts; use each cup’s MAX mark.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

Reviewed exact earlier US SKU BPB600BALUSC in Brushed Aluminum. Breville’s US page marks it discontinued. Exact present seller availability/condition is unknown; the page review retains an Amazon search using the real model number, not an ASIN.

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Breville Boss To Go BPB600BALUSC in Brushed Aluminum with its two standard tumblers.
Manufacturer cutout of the exact Brushed Aluminum BPB600BALUSC base and the attached large tumbler plus separate smaller tumbler. Breville renders/retouch status is uncertain; this is not an in-use test photograph. Breville
A useful fit for

A fit to investigate if you blend one cold serving at a time, value the included 16-ounce standard cup as well as the 23-ounce tumbler, and prefer a simpler two-cup package with both included cups listed as top-rack dishwasher-safe. It is an earlier US model, not a current Breville offer.

The main tradeoff

It has no full-size pitcher, manual variable-speed dial, automatic recipe cycles, hot-liquid permission or current Breville sales offer. The exact page does not state warranty duration, and present seller stock, condition and box contents are unverified.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

If a 23-ounce largest personal cup is enough, can the BPB600 serve your cold one-person blending routine?

The product page and BPB600 manual label the large cup 23 ounces; use its MAX line rather than treating the nominal capacity as an all-purpose finished-fill mark.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you want the smaller included cup to be at least 16 ounces?

The exact product page calls its companion tumbler 16 ounces and the manual repeats 16 ounces (500 ml); the converted metric number is rounded, so verify the cup mark on a specific used offer.

Explore this need in the finder →
Would you rather have a standard companion tumbler than a double-wall insulated sport cup?

Breville describes two BPA-free Tritan tumblers; its manual illustrates the smaller one as an ordinary tumbler and does not list a sport-cup insulation feature.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you need a top-rack-safe cup pair with the smaller cup at least 16 ounces?

The BPB600 manual allows its cups on the top rack; its exception for a sport cup applies to the separate sport-cup model, not the BPB600 package pictured in the exact manual.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Breville Boss To Go BPB600 is not a small pitcher blender. It is a cup-first system: load a drinking tumbler, fit the blade assembly, invert it onto the motor base, blend, then change the blade assembly for a travel lid. That changes both the sensible serving size and the way cleanup works. Breville’s US page marks the model discontinued, so this is an earlier-model assessment, not a claim that a new unit is currently available from the maker.

Two tumblers instead of a main jar

The exact US page identifies BPB600BALUSC, Brushed Aluminum, and names one 23-ounce large tumbler and one 16-ounce smaller tumbler. The US manual identifies those same two sizes and describes both as BPA-free Eastman Tritan. There is a source discrepancy worth keeping visible: Breville’s visible page copy and BPB600 manual say 23 and 16 ounces, while machine-readable product data embedded in the saved page lists 25 and 18. The review uses the matching visible-copy/manual labels as nominal capacities; neither number is a safe fill line. Check the physical cup’s MAX marking when evaluating a particular used or old-stock set.

The single-serve format makes sense if you intend to drink from the blending cup rather than pour multiple portions from a pitcher. The manual shows two portable lids. The product page’s accessory field separately names a Breville Assist lid with an inner measuring lid, so an old, incomplete or replacement-parts listing should not be assumed to contain a full original set just because it uses the model name. Ask what cups, lids and blade assembly are actually included.

A manual, cup-mounted routine

There is no numbered speed dial or recipe-program menu to learn. The cup and blade assembly twist onto the base to start, then twist back to stop. The instructions describe short engagement and disengagement as a way to pulse. That puts the user in charge of the timing, but it is not the same as having several selectable speeds. Breville describes a 1,000-watt peak motor in the manual; peak wattage is a manufacturer rating, not a measured texture or a guarantee that every dense mixture will circulate.

For a practical routine, add liquid before starting, cut ingredients into modest pieces, stay below the cup MAX line and use the smaller cup only for a genuinely smaller portion. The sealed cup must be inverted for blending. The manual warns against hot or warm ingredients and carbonated liquids, and it says not to exceed one minute of continuous blending before giving the motor two minutes to rest. It also limits the number of ice cubes or frozen-fruit pieces per cup. This is a cold-drink appliance, not a soup blender or a replacement for a large ice-crushing pitcher.

Cleaning and safe handling

The BPB600 manual says its tumblers and lids can go on the top rack, while the motor base cannot be immersed and should be wiped with a damp cloth. It calls the blade edges extremely sharp. Let the blades stop, lift the cup carefully, turn it upright and remove the blade assembly by its collar rather than reaching across the cutting edges. Rinse promptly so smoothie residue does not dry around the blade and cup. Do not use a cup without ingredients or try to run the blade assembly on the base by itself; the cup and blade must be assembled correctly for the interlock.

The two-cup cleaning distinction matters against the BPB610 Sport. BPB600’s manual illustrates two ordinary Tritan tumblers. It does not document a double-wall insulated sport cup in this package. Breville’s BPB610 Sport page and manual do document one, but the BPB610 instructions exclude the sport cup from the top-rack dishwasher guidance. If you want an insulated drink cup, the Sport is the closer package; if every blending cup needs documented top-rack care, BPB600’s manual is clearer.

Size, warranty and alternatives

Breville lists a 5.5-by-5.5-inch footprint and 15-inch height for BPB600. The maker currently labels the model discontinued. Its US page does not show a warranty term in the displayed specifications, so no coverage should be inferred for a used or new-old-stock unit. The review keeps an exact-model retail search rather than inventing an ASIN, but the link does not establish that a complete, safe-to-use package is available. Confirm the model number on the base and verify the cups, lid(s), blade assembly, seals and seller condition.

Choose this earlier Breville only if its small-cup use case is more important than a full pitcher, variable speeds, hot-liquid processing or current manufacturer availability. For family batches, compare a countertop model such as Breville Fresh & Furious BBL620 or the KitchenAid Pure Power 68-ounce setup; for a smaller drink but more clearly specified single-speed package, compare the BPB610 Sport. The answer changes with the questionnaire: a 48-ounce minimum, hot-liquid need or 24-ounce personal-cup requirement rules BPB600 out, while a 23-ounce one-person cup and top-rack-safe pair can fit its documented package. This is a source-based assessment, not a hands-on blend test.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity23 oz
Included container styleTwo single-serve cups blend directly with the blade assembly on the base; there is no full-size pitcher.
Speed and Pulse controlsNo variable-speed dial or named programs. Start and stop by twisting the assembled cup on the base; the manual describes pulsing through short engagement/disengagement.
Named programs/control modes0
Program categoriesNo automatic or named recipe cycles are listed.
Warranty scope and wordingBreville’s exact US product page marks the model discontinued and does not publish a warranty term in its displayed specifications. No warranty is inferred for used or new-old-stock offers.
Footprint and height note5.5 x 5.5 x 15 in. (W x D x H), as listed on the US product page.
Cleaning and heat guidanceThe blade assembly is very sharp and must be removed by its collar after the blades stop. Rinse promptly. Exact cup-by-cup dishwasher guidance differs: the two included BPB600 cups may be top-rack washed; the base is not.
Included jar / additional blending setupTwo portable personal blending tumblers (23-ounce large and 16-ounce companion) share one blade assembly and motor base; this is not a full-size jar system.
Manufacturer-stated motor rating1000 W
Manufacturer listing status when checkedBreville’s exact US product page says this model has been discontinued. Current retailer inventory, condition, completeness and remaining warranty are not established.
Dedicated Clean cycleNo automatic cup-cleaning program is listed.
Published base material / finishBrushed Aluminum finish; heavy-duty die-cast metal base and stainless-steel blade assembly.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power-rating basisThe manual calls 1,000 W a peak motor rating. It is a manufacturer specification, not measured continuous output or an independent blending result.
Power sourceFalse
Blender and juicer setups on one baseNo
Largest directly blending cup label23 oz
Smaller blending cup label16 oz
Smaller included cup is insulatedNo
All included cups are top-rack safeYes
Included personal blending cups2
Manufacturer model / SKUBPB600BALUSC

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.