Model assessment · Blendtec

Blendtec Designer 650 review

A household Designer 650 configuration with a capacitive touchscreen, eight manual speed steps, Pulse and an included WildSide+ jar; the exact finish and listed cycle menu distinguish the variant.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Blendtec Designer 650 with the exact advertised WildSide+ jar and Black base.
Exact Blendtec Designer 650 manufacturer product asset; only the advertised blender and jar are shown as equipment. Blendtec
A useful fit for

A good candidate if you want a touchscreen menu of six named recipe cycles, eight manual speeds, Pulse and WildSide+ without requiring a dedicated Clean button or stainless base.

The main tradeoff

The maker-recommended finished-product line is 36 ounces despite a 90-ounce total jar capacity; the exact model page lists no Clean cycle, and its available 2014 family manual does not identify the current 650 SKU in its model-by-model operation sections.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Does the included WildSide+ jar meet a 36-ounce finished-blend line?

Yes. Blendtec lists WildSide+ at 90 ounces total and recommends finished blends at or below 36 ounces. That is a mark, not a 90-ounce serving promise.

Explore this need in the finder →
Can I require six named cycle controls while keeping manual speed available?

Yes. The exact Designer 650 page names six recipe cycles and separately lists eight manual speeds and Pulse.

Explore this need in the finder →
Is the standard 650 a stainless-base configuration?

No. Its exact specification calls the finish Molded; it does not specify the material resin. Choose the 650 S only if a stainless-steel blender base is essential.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Blendtec Designer 650 is the molded-base version of Blendtec’s touchscreen Designer line, supplied in the US in Black or Pomegranate. The manufacturer’s variant data gives those finishes separate model codes—D650C3201A1A-A1AP1D and D650C3226A1A-A1AP1D—while listing the same controls and WildSide+ jar. This is a preset-oriented, manually adjustable countertop machine, not a personal cup system and not a quieter Professional model. Its strongest reason to choose it is the six named blend-cycle menu paired with eight manual speed settings and Pulse.

Six food-cycle labels, with a separate manual slider

The exact Designer 650 page lists Sauces & Batters, Ice Crush & Margarita, Smoothie, Ice Cream, Whole Juice, and Hot Soup & Fondues. The same page gives eight manual speeds, Pulse, a capacitive touchscreen and an illuminated LCD timer. You can choose a named routine for a recurring recipe or move to manual speed when you want to steer it yourself. Blendtec’s wattage is a manufacturer rating, not a test result; it does not tell you how smooth a particular recipe will be or how loud the machine will sound.

Those labels make the 650 more useful to someone who routinely makes several kinds of blends than a control panel organized around only one or two simple choices. It does not, however, list a dedicated Clean button. If that shortcut is essential, the separate Designer 650 Gunmetal page lists Clean among its named cycles; if you want a stainless base rather than this molded finish, look at the Designer 650 S. The standard 650 is the better fit when its six listed recipe categories and Black/Pomegranate choice match your routine without those extra requirements.

Large total capacity does not mean a 90-ounce finished batch

The included WildSide+ jar is listed at 90 ounces total, but Blendtec marks and recommends finished blends only through 36 ounces. That gap matters: the jar’s total capacity is not a promise that you should fill it to the rim, particularly when a recipe foams, heats or expands. If your essential requirement is a finished batch above 36 ounces, none of the reviewed WildSide+ packages meets that stated line. The 75-ounce FourSide package has a lower 32-ounce recommended finished mark. Choose by the manufacturer’s marked guidance, not by comparing the larger number alone.

Blendtec’s family guidance describes WildSide+ as a wide-base, five-sided jar with a four-inch blade and states it is made from impact-resistant, BPA-free copolyester. The 650 package page lists the WildSide+ jar and vented Gripper lid in the box. A wide jar is a practical fit when you want to blend several servings together, but it is not automatically the best tool for a spoonful-sized task. Smaller Blendtec jars are separate purchases, so do not assume one is included with this base.

Hot Soup is a cycle name, not permission for boiling ingredients

The available English Designer Series manual describes a Hot Soup cycle and warns against adding hot liquids or ingredients over 115°F when making soup or other hot items. It also cautions that friction can heat the contents. Follow the conservative ingredient-temperature rule even though the machine can warm a blend; there is no basis for treating the label as a built-in heating element. The manual posted for the Designer family is an older general guide whose operation chapters name the 600, 625, 675, 700 and 725 models, not the current 650 SKU. The current product page is therefore the source for this exact 650 control list; use the instructions supplied with the particular base for its final operating details.

For care, the Designer guide recommends cleaning the jar soon after blending, using Pulse or a Clean cycle where fitted, rinsing well and wiping the base with a damp cloth. It says not to immerse the motor and to use only the top rack if dishwashing the jar. Blendtec’s jar guidance sets a lower temperature ceiling for jar exposure than boiling water, so avoid scalding the container and heated-dry cycles. Since the 650 page does not list a Clean button, plan on the manual’s water-and-dish-soap routine using the controls available on this exact model.

Where it sits among the Designer choices

The 650 S keeps the listed six-cycle menu, eight speeds, Pulse and WildSide+ jar while changing the base to stainless steel. The Gunmetal listing uses a different named menu, includes a Clean option and describes a +10-second control; its itemized page lists five cycle names even though nearby copy calls them six. The manufacturer’s warranty schedule lists the Designer 650 at eight years of parts and labor and the product page repeats an eight-year term; its written terms restrict coverage to residential use and authorized US/Canada sellers. Confirm the current terms for the exact offer.

Compare the Designer 650 with the Total Blender Classic if you want six familiar cycle labels but more manual speed steps: the Total Classic page specifies ten, while the Designer lists eight. Both families have a WildSide+ option and a 36-ounce finished-product mark, but the Designer has an eight-year listed term and a different touch interface; the Total Classic is listed at two years. The Classic 575 is simpler, with five speed steps plus 60- and 90-second timed runs. None of these specification differences is an independent texture or durability test. Choose the Designer 650 when its six categories, touchscreen control, included WildSide+ jar and molded Black/Pomegranate appearance fit your actual recipes and counter space.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity90 oz
Included container styleWildSide+; 90 ounces total capacity, maker-recommended finished-product mark at 36 ounces
Documented variable-speed settings8
Speed and Pulse controlsFully sealed capacitive touchscreen; eight manual speed settings plus Pulse; illuminated LCD timer.
Named programs/control modes6
Program categoriesExact page names: Sauces & Batters, Ice Crush & Margarita, Smoothie, Ice Cream, Whole Juice, Hot Soup & Fondues.
Published machine warranty term8 years
Warranty scope and wordingExact product page states an 8-year warranty; the current US/Canada schedule lists the Original Designer 650 at 8-year parts and labor. Coverage is residential and limited to authorized sellers.
Manufacturer offer conditionnew
Cleaning and heat guidanceThe available 2014 Designer Series guide warns against hot liquids or soup ingredients above 115°F, describes friction heating on the Hot Soup cycle, says to keep vents clear, wipe the base rather than immerse it, and gives jar-cleaning/top-rack guidance. That guide does not list the current 650 SKU in its model-specific operation sections; use the instructions supplied with the exact base.
Maker's recommended finished-product mark36 oz
Included jar materialImpact-resistant BPA-free copolyester (Blendtec description)
Included jar / additional blending setupIncludes a WildSide+ jar. Exact product page lists a Vented Gripper lid.
Manufacturer-stated motor rating1560 W
Manufacturer listing status when checkedThe exact manufacturer product JSON showed the listed variant as available when checked; this observation is not a promise of seller stock.
Dedicated Clean cycleThe exact page lists six recipe cycles and does not list a dedicated Clean cycle.
Published base material / finishThe exact page specification labels the finish Molded; it does not name the base resin.

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.