Model assessment · Ninja

Ninja Blast Max Portable Blender BC251PK review

A cordless 22-ounce Twist & Go blender with a removable motor base, two Auto-iQ presets and a separate 30-second Blend mode.

Sources checked 2026-10-23 · Our editorial approach

We may earn from qualifying purchases. Compare the exact model, size and package.

Dusty pink Ninja Blast Max BC251PK with Twist & Go vessel and integrated modes
Manufacturer main image showing the dusty-pink BC251PK, integrated-vessel blade arrangement and carry sip lid; staged food and photo/render method are not established. SharkNinja / Ninja
A useful fit for

A single cold drink for someone who values a slightly larger nominal vessel, a motor that twists off for carrying, two named Auto-iQ presets and a separate short manual cycle.

The main tradeoff

There is only one vessel and its nominal 22 ounces is not a numeric safe fill. It is not a variable-speed or Pulse blender and cannot handle hot, carbonated, dry or grinding tasks; charge time is up to three hours and runtime is unspecified.

Your needs, this model

Does it fit your priorities?

Do you need a cordless 22-ounce one-cup blender that can leave its motor base behind after blending?

The BC251PK package lists a nominal 22-ounce Twist & Go vessel with an integrated CrushBlade and a detachable base; the drink vessel is the travel container.

Explore this need in the finder →
Are named Smoothie and Crush presets plus a separate 30-second Blend mode essential?

The BC250 guide identifies two Auto-iQ presets (Smoothie and Crush) and a distinct 30-second manual Blend mode; the product page calls the panel three programs.

Explore this need in the finder →
Do you require at least 8 ounces of documented hot-liquid blending in one vessel?

No. The BC250-series manual explicitly prohibits hot liquids, so the Blast Max cannot meet that need even though its vessel is labeled 22 ounces.

Explore this need in the finder →

The Ninja Blast Max Portable Blender in Dusty Pink, model BC251PK, is the larger and more flexible of Ninja’s two small cordless Blast configurations assessed here. Its single 22-ounce Twist & Go vessel carries the CrushBlade assembly inside the cup, so the motor base can be removed after a blend and the lidded vessel can travel on its own. That is the key everyday difference from the white BC151WH, whose blade is attached to the motor base. The Blast Max still makes one small batch at a time; its 22-ounce label is nominal vessel size, not a guaranteed safe fill for every smoothie.

Two presets plus a timed manual mode

The control page advertises three Auto-iQ programs—Smoothie, Crush and Blend—but the BC250-series owner guide makes a practical distinction: Smoothie and Crush are the Auto-iQ presets, while Blend is a manual 30-second cycle for a shake or similar mix. A separate Power button turns the unit on and off and the battery icon indicates charge state. There is no variable-speed dial or hold-to-run Pulse setting. This is still a three-choice panel, but not three identical automatic recipe programs.

Smoothie is described for fresh and frozen fruit. Crush is described for ice with liquid for frozen drinks. The manual directs users to add liquids first, put ice or frozen ingredients last and shake between cycles if ingredients need to move. Those instructions are more useful than assuming the machine senses a recipe or guarantees a certain texture. The maker’s claims about crushing frozen ingredients are not independent performance measurements. If you routinely make several servings, a corded blender with a larger jar is a more suitable format than repeating small battery-powered batches.

The cup is the portable part

The listed package includes the 11.1-volt rechargeable motor base, one 22-ounce Twist & Go vessel with built-in CrushBlade, easy-open sip lid with carry handle, charging cable and a five-recipe inspiration guide. The vessel twists onto the base for blending; after the blades stop, it can be removed and carried with the sip lid. This means you do not have to transport the motor base with your drink. It also means the single vessel is both the blending cup and the travel cup: it is not a second cup or a separate personal-blending attachment.

The exact product listing creates a voltage puzzle unless battery and charger are separated. Its in-box description calls the rechargeable motor base 11.1 volts. The BC250-series manual describes the supplied cable/charging input as 13.3 volts DC at 0.75 amp, and its troubleshooting advice points to that charger rating. These are not conflicting ratings for the same part: 11.1 volts describes the battery-powered base, while 13.3 volts and 0.75 amp describe the charger input. The guide says a full charge may take up to three hours. It does not provide a supported number of blends per charge, so plan to recharge rather than relying on a guessed runtime.

Important exclusions and care

The manual says not to blend hot, effervescent or carbonated liquids, not to grind or process dry ingredients without liquid, and not to exceed the MAX FILL mark. It also requires the sip lid for operation. Those limits make the BC251PK a cold-drink portable machine, not a small soup blender, spice mill or carbonated-drink mixer. The vessel’s nominal 22 ounces is not a numeric max-liquid allowance; use its own mark. If hot ingredients are essential, the Breville Q BBL820 is a more relevant comparison because its own instructions document a hot-liquid amount in its jug. Unknown permission should not be treated as approval.

For cleanup, the vessel and sip lid are listed as BPA-free and top-rack dishwasher-safe; the guide says not to use heated dry. The motor base must stay out of the dishwasher and away from water or other liquid. A quick rinse cycle can run with water and a drop of dish soap, but it is a short Blend-mode cleaning method rather than a fourth Clean program. The blade is integrated into the removable cup, so take care when washing or loading it. If the base overheats, the manual calls for at least a 60-minute rest before another blend. The exact page lists a one-year limited warranty.

Who benefits from Blast Max?

BC251PK suits someone who wants a cordless 22-ounce cold drink setup, values a detachable base and prefers a named Smoothie/Crush pair alongside a short manual cycle. It is a stronger package match than BC151WH when the user wants to leave the base behind after blending or needs a vessel capacity label above 18 ounces. It remains a single cup, has no extra serving vessel and offers neither variable speed nor a large-batch pitcher. The dusty-pink finish is an exact variant identity, not proof of a different motor or menu.

Use the finder’s cordless choice, a 22-ounce minimum and the “Smoothie and Crush presets plus manual Blend” control answer when those are essential. The same exact operating plan satisfies them together. If an 18-ounce one-button cycle is enough, BC151WH is the smaller, simpler alternative; if you need a cup that blends on a corded base with several included vessels, Ninja SS101 or the SS151 Twisti packages work differently and should be judged by their own cups and manuals. A 40-ounce hot-liquid requirement or dry-grinding need excludes this model. Before shopping, search the exact retail term “Ninja Blast Max Portable Blender BC251PK” and compare the package code—other Blast Max colors may share the series manual, but the checked image and offer here are the Dusty Pink US configuration.

Key details at a glance

Manufacturer-listed container capacity22 oz
Included container styleOne 22-ounce nominal Twist & Go vessel with built-in CrushBlade; the removable motor base can be left behind after blending.
Documented variable-speed settings0
Speed and Pulse controlsPower, Smoothie and Crush Auto-iQ presets, and a distinct 30-second manual Blend mode; no variable-speed dial or Pulse.
Named programs/control modes3
Program categoriesThe product page markets three control functions as programs. The BC250 owner guide distinguishes Smoothie and Crush as the two Auto-iQ presets and Blend as a separate manual 30-second mode.
Published machine warranty term1 years
Warranty scope and wordingExact product listing gives a one-year limited warranty; no service-life estimate is inferred.
Manufacturer offer conditionnew
Published machine weight2.45 lb
Included jar materialBPA-free plastic; exact polymer type not stated.
Timed cycle detailsThe manual establishes one 30-second Start/Stop/Blend cycle; it is distinct from variable speed and from the BC251 Smoothie/Crush Auto-iQ presets.
Manufacturer listing status when checkedExact SharkNinja US product page currently lists BC251PK; current stock/price are not asserted.
Published base material / finishBase material is not established; finish color does not establish construction.
Personal blending jars in package0
Power-rating basisNo independent motor power or battery runtime measurement is claimed.
Power sourceTrue
Battery packageExact listing says 11.1V rechargeable motor base. The 13.3V DC / 0.75A rating belongs to the charging cable/input in the BC250 manual, not the battery base; up to three-hour charge, runtime not established.
Compatible battery modelIntegrated rechargeable lithium-ion pack in the listed motor base; the exact model guide says batteries are replaceable only by skilled persons. Not KitchenAid KRB12.
Battery nominal voltage11.1 V
Blender and juicer setups on one baseNo
Largest directly blending cup label22 oz
Smaller blending cup label22 oz
Smaller included cup is insulatedNo
All included cups are top-rack safeYes
Included personal blending cups0
Food processor bowl includedNo
Charging input voltage13.3 V
Manufacturer-stated full charge time3 hours
Portable blender control routinetwo_autoiq_plus_manual_30_second
Drink vessel separates from base for carryingYes
MAX fill guidanceManual directs users to visible minimum-liquid and MAX FILL marks; no numerical safe finished-fill volume was established. Nominal capacity is not the max-liquid line.
Manufacturer model / SKUBC251PK

Use the exact model’s instructions for operating limits, supplied equipment and version differences.

Sources for this assessment

Choose around the way you blend.

Start with format and batch, then check manual controls, named programs, exact jar package, clearance and cleanup. In the Propel 510/750 family, a second jar is a separate setup—not extra capacity in one blend—and the Classic Bundle has a distinct hand-wash jar. In the nutribullet Ultra family, the standard NB50500IN has no processor, NB20550ID adds a separate two-cup processor, and only NB50550AKID includes the coffee/spice grinder. In nutribullet portable choices, the NBPB50100 keeps its base attached, Flex separates its base and blade, and Flip uses an insulated steel cup with a 16-ounce MAX line. Flex x McLaren’s exact page conflicts on 20 versus 22 ounces; that unknown should not meet a capacity requirement. The nutribullet Personal Blender NB50150-02 is the 700W refresh with a 21-ounce handled tumbler and a separate 24-ounce cup; use its 55-second plan and exact compatibility note rather than assuming old 600W parts fit. The current nutribullet Pro+ N12-1001MK pairs a separate 24-ounce and 32-ounce cup with a one-minute Blend cycle and manual Pulse; nominal cup labels do not replace the marked MAX line. The exact nutribullet Power Core XL Matte White NBF70100AW-02 lists a 72-ounce pitcher, 64-ounce maximum-liquid line and a maker-suggested minimum 16-ounce batch; its guide supports hot ingredients only in the vented pitcher and expressly says not to crush ice. The nutribullet Lite NBI50200 is a two-speed immersion set with a 30-ounce cup label but a 350 ml manual MAX mark; direct hot-pot blending does not specify a maximum pot or hot volume. The current McLaren Pro NB9-0901MC lists separate 32- and 24-ounce cups but showed out of stock; the discontinued Matte Eucalyptus SKU lists two separate 32-ounce cups. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. Oster MyBlend Plus SAP 2126144 is one cold-only sport-bottle setup; Easy-to-Clean SAP 2181510 keeps its glass pitcher and separate 20-ounce cup in different plans, and unknown cup instructions stay unknown. The Hamilton Beach Smoothie Blender 50181FG/FJ, 50182FG/FJ and 50183F/FJ family has one 48-ounce BPA-free jar, while its directly linked guide names 50180 rather than those exact codes; check the supplied manual before planning a hot batch.