Single-serve choices

Cuisinart Soho CPB-7BK vs PBL-100: corded 24-ounce cup or cordless 18-ounce cup?

The Cuisinart Soho CPB-7BK and Personal Portable PBL-100 are both one-drink systems, but they solve different daily problems. The Soho is a plug-in countertop base with a single 24-ounce cup and removable blade assembly. The PBL-100 is rechargeable, has an 18-ounce cup, and its blade stays attached to the cup after blending. Decide first whether the outlet or the extra cup volume matters more; their names do not make them interchangeable versions.

Power changes where you can blend

CPB-7BK is corded and needs a wall outlet during use. Its booklet describes a compact base with integrated cord storage, not battery operation. The PBL-100 uses a rechargeable USB-C base, and its manufacturer advertises up to 20 blends per charge. That is a maker claim, not a test result or a guarantee for every recipe. If your use happens away from an outlet, choose the PBL-100's battery format. If charging is an unwanted routine and you have a suitable counter outlet, the Soho is the simpler powered setup.

The cup decision is also a fill-limit decision

The CPB-7 page lists one 24-ounce cup. Its linked instructions mark 24 ounces as the maximum for liquid. Do not confuse the vessel label or line with an amount of finished smoothie after foam, solids and headspace. The PBL-100 lists an 18-ounce travel cup; its booklet does not state a numeric ounce conversion for the cup's MAX line. A minimum 24-ounce vessel requirement favors the Soho; a smaller one-person serving and charging convenience point to the PBL-100.

Both cups can be carried separately from their motor bases, but their blade arrangements differ. After blending in CPB-7, remove the blade assembly and fit its carry-loop travel lid. The PBL-100 lets the cup leave its base while its blade remains fixed to the cup; it uses a snap-spout lid. Handle both blades with care and follow the exact booklet. Their travel containers are not blade-free until the model-specific steps are complete.

One continuous control versus two function selections

The Soho uses Blend/CANCEL and a separate Pulse button. Its manual describes continuous blending that can be stopped or returns to standby after 60 seconds; Pulse is a press-and-release burst. There is no speed dial or named smoothie program. PBL-100 has Power and Function controls that select Blend or Smoothie. Its booklet states a 30-second default Blend cycle and a 30-second maximum for one cycle, while it does not specify a separate Smoothie speed profile or duration. Neither button label proves a particular texture. Prefer Soho if you value a simple continuous run plus pulse; choose PBL-100 if cordless power and a distinct Function selection suit your routine.

Manual limits can eliminate either option

The CPB-7 booklet prohibits hot liquids and carbonated beverages. It gives a narrowly bounded ice guide—six cubes for six to eight long pulses—and top-rack dishwasher care for removable parts. The base must be wiped, not submerged or washed in a dishwasher. It also warns against operating beneath a wall cabinet or inside an appliance garage. The PBL-100 booklet also prohibits hot and carbonated ingredients, and its cup/base cleanup instructions differ. Read the correct booklet rather than transferring one Cuisinart personal blender's limits to the other.

For a hot soup batch or shared family quantity, neither personal cup is the right vessel. Assess a countertop pitcher model only after checking that model's own permitted ingredients, safe-fill line and care instructions. If your essential requirement is a large finished batch, do not add cup capacities together or plan multiple blends as if they were a single jug.

Which one fits?

Choose CPB-7BK when a corded counter setup, one nominal 24-ounce cup, a removable blade block, top-rack-safe cup parts and the Blend/CANCEL-plus-Pulse controls are useful. Choose PBL-100 when rechargeable operation is essential and an 18-ounce cup with separately selectable Blend/Smoothie functions fits your serving. Neither earns a positive match for hot or fizzy use. The Soho's CPB-7TR Truffle finish is documented separately as discontinued/out of stock; it is not a current buying substitute for the CPB-7BK Warm Black offer.

Manufacturer sources: Soho CPB-7BK page and its CPB-7 Series booklet; PBL-100 page and its Cuisinart-authored U.S. booklet listed in the Cuisinart blender manuals index. Published battery-cycle counts are not independently measured.

Put the batch, controls and care routine together.

Build my shortlist →